Skip to main content

Are you a legal professional? Visit our professional site

Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

State Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws

State minimum wage and overtime laws

Summaries of state minimum wage and overtime laws are listed in the following table. Workers in most industries and job types to be aware that federal law establishes a baseline for minimum wages across the country.

Workers covered by the federal wage law called the Fair Labor Standards Act (the FLSA) are entitled to at least the federal minimum wage of $7.25 an hour. In states which have established no minimum wage rate or one lower than the federal wage rate, the higher minimum wage federal rate will apply for many workers.

Nearly half of the states have a rate equal to the federal rate of $7.25, while several other states and D.C. have set a rate higher than the federal minimum wage. The higher rates set by these states will apply to most workers. However, the minimum wage and overtime pay requirements below do NOT apply to exempt employees, farmworkers, or public sector employees, as defined by both federal and state laws.

Please select from the list or browse below for more information.

Alabama Kentucky North Dakota
Alaska Louisiana Ohio
Arizona Maine Oklahoma
Arkansas Maryland Oregon
California Massachusetts Pennsylvania
Colorado Michigan Rhode Island
Connecticut Minnesota South Carolina
Delaware Mississippi South Dakota
District of Columbia Missouri Tennessee
Florida Montana Texas
Georgia Nebraska Utah
Hawaii Nevada Vermont
Idaho New Hampshire Virginia
Illinois New Jersey Washington
Indiana New York West Virginia
Iowa New Mexico Wisconsin
Kansas North Carolina Wyoming
Select U.S. Territories:
Guam Puerto Rico U.S. Virgin Islands

Summaries of Minimum Wage and Overtime Requirements by State 

Alabama

No minimum wage or overtime law. Instead, federal minimums and overtime rules under the FLSA apply. The Alabama Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on labor laws in the state. 

Alaska

$10.34 per hour. Alaska requires overtime pay for any time worked over 10 hours in any workday or 40 hours in any given work week. Employers with less than 4 employees are exempt from the state's overtime pay rule. The Alaska Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Arizona

Arizona's hourly minimum wage is $12.15 and is increased annually based on the cost of living formula. Overtime requirements are based on federal law. The Industrial Commission of Arizona website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Arkansas

$11.00, which applies only to employers with 4 or more employees. Overtime pay is required for employees who work over 40 hours in a given week. Federal wage rates and overtime requirements apply to qualifying employees. The Arkansas Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

California

California requires a minimum wage of $14.00 for employers with 26 employees or more. Employers with less than 25 employees are required to pay $13.00. Overtime pay of time-and-a-half is required for hours worked over 8 in a day, 40 in a week, and for the first 8 hours of the seventh day worked in a week. Double pay is required for any hours worked over 12 in a day or in excess of eight hours on any seventh day of a workweek. The California Department of Industrial Relations website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Colorado

$12.82 and varies annually based on a cost of living formula. The state's minimum wage applies to the food and beverage, medical, retail, and service industries. Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week, over 12 hours in a given day, or over 12 consecutive hours. The Colorado Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Connecticut

$13.00. Should the federal minimum wage be increased to match or exceed that of the state, Connecticut's minimum wage automatically increases by 0.5% above the federal wage. Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week. The Connecticut Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Delaware

$9.25, with automatic increase to match increase in federal minimum. Federal overtime rules apply. The Delaware Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

District of Columbia

$15.20. If exceeded by the federal minimum, D.C. law requires a $1 increase in the state minimum wage. Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week. The DC Department of Employment Services website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Florida

$10.00, and this rate is increased annually based on a cost of living formula. Federal overtime rules apply. The Florida Department of Economic Opportunity website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Georgia

$5.15, but the federal minimum wage applies to employers with 6 or more employees covered by the FLSA and state law specifies that the federal minimum wage applies in any circumstances where it exceeds the state minimum. Federal overtime rules apply. The Georgia Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Hawaii

$10.10, but any employees guaranteed $2,000/month or more are exempted from the state's minimum wage and overtime law. Employers covered by the FLSA are excluded unless the state rate is higher. Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week. The Hawaii Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Idaho

$7.25, equal to the federal rate. Federal overtime rules apply. The Idaho Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Illinois

$11.00, which applies to employers with 4 or more non-family employees. Overtime is required after 40 hours in a workweek. The Illinois Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Indiana

$7.25, with overtime required after 40 hours worked. The Indiana Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Iowa

$7.25, with an automatic increase to match a greater federal minimum wage. Federal overtime rules apply. The Iowa Workforce Development website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Kansas

$7.25, with overtime required by state law after 46 hours worked in a week. For workers covered under the FLSA, federal wage/overtime requirements will apply for qualified workers and those who work over 40 hours in a week. The Kansas Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Kentucky

$7.25 per hour, with an automatic increase if the federal minimum wage rises. Overtime pay is required for employees working over 40 hours in a week, and also for any employees who work 7 days in a single work week (overtime will apply on the 7th day). The Kentucky Labor Cabinet website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the Commonwealth.

Louisiana

Louisiana has established no minimum wage laws. Instead, federal wage and overtime laws apply. The Louisiana Workforce Commission website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Maine

$12.15 an hour, with a maximum $1 automatic increase should the federal minimum wage be higher than this rate. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours. The Maine Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Maryland

$11.75 per hour. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. The Maryland Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Massachusetts

$13.50. Overtime is required for time worked beyond 40 hours in a week. The Massachusetts Executive Office of Labor & Workforce Development website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the Commonwealth.

Michigan

$9.65 for employers with 2 or more employees. Overtime is required for time worked beyond 40 hours in a week. The Michigan Department of Licensing & Regulatory Affairs website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Minnesota

Minnesota establishes two minimum wage rates lower than the federal minimum. For employers with annual receipts of $500,000 or more, the minimum wage is $10.08 an hour. For those with receipts of less than that amount, the minimum wage is $8.21 per hour. A temporary, training wage of $8.42 per hour is also allowed in specific circumstances. Overtime is required after 48 hours worked in a given week. Federal wage and overtime laws supersede the state's laws for qualified employees. The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Mississippi

Mississippi has established no minimum wage laws. Instead, federal wage and overtime laws apply. The Mississippi Department of Employment Security website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Missouri

$10.30 per hour, with a cost of living adjustment (up or down) on January 1 of every year. The minimum wage will increase by $0.85 each year until it reaches $12 an hour in 2023. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. The Missouri Labor and Industrial Relations Commission website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Montana

$8.75 an hour, but $4.00 per hour for employers with gross sales of less than $110,000 per year. Overtime is required for time worked beyond 40 hours in a week. The Montana Department of Labor and Industry website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Nebraska

$9.00 an hour for employers with four or more employees. Overtime is required for time worked beyond 40 hours in a week. The Nebraska Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Nevada

$8.75 an hour for employees who are receiving employer-provided health benefits. $9.75 for those who do not receive such benefits. Overtime is required for time worked beyond 40 hours in a week or 8 hours in a given day. The Nevada Office of the Labor Commissioner website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

New Hampshire

No minimum wage law (repealed in 2011 by HB 133). Instead, federal wage and overtime laws apply. The New Hampshire Department of Labor website may have more information on state wage and hour laws.

New Jersey

$12.00 an hour. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. The New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

New Mexico

$10.50 an hour. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. The New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

New York

$12.50 per hour. Overtime is required for time worked beyond 40 hours in a week. The New York Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

North Carolina

$7.25 an hour. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. The North Carolina Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

North Dakota

$7.25 an hour. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. The North Dakota Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Ohio

$8.80 an hour for employers with annual gross receipts of $305,000 or more. $7.25 for employers with annual gross receipts under $305,000. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. The Ohio Labor Law website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Oklahoma

$7.25 per hour, with the state rate based on whatever the current federal rate may be. This rate applies to employers with 10 or more employees and employers of any size with over $100,000 in gross annual sales. Other employers are covered by a $2.00 minimum wage rate (or the applicable higher federal rate). Overtime pay is covered by federal law. The Oklahoma Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Oregon

$12.75 per hour, varying annually based on an inflation calculation. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. A few industries, including factories and manufacturing establishments, also have overtime pay required after 10 hours worked in a workday. The Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Pennsylvania

$7.25 an hour. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. The Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the Commonwealth.

Rhode Island

$11.50 an hour. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. Retail and other specified businesses must also pay overtime for work on Sundays and holidays. The Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

South Carolina

The state has established no minimum wage laws. Instead, federal wage and overtime laws apply. The South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulations website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

South Dakota

$9.45 an hour. Federal overtime requirements apply. The South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Tennessee

The state has established no minimum wage laws. Instead, federal wage and overtime laws apply. The Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Texas

$7.25 an hour, and is based on the existing federal minimum wage rate at any point in time. Federal overtime requirements apply. The Texas Workforce Commission website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Utah

$7.25 an hour, based on the existing federal minimum wage rate. Federal overtime requirements apply. The Utah Labor Commission website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Vermont

$11.75 per hour for employers with 2 or more employees, with a yearly increase. The minimum wage is also set to match the federal minimum should it exceed Vermont's. Overtime pay is required for time worked over 40 hours, but state law exempts a variety of industries, including retailers, hotels, and restaurants, from the overtime rule. Federal overtime requirements may nevertheless apply. The Vermont Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Virginia

$9.50 an hour. Virginia law will require overtime pay of one and one-half times the pay rate for any hours over 40 per week. The Virginia Department of Labor and Industry website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the Commonwealth.

Washington

$13.69 per hour, adjusted for inflation every year. Overtime pay is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. The Washington Department of Labor and Industries website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

West Virginia

$8.75 an hour for employers with 6 or more employees at a single location. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. The West Virginia Division of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Wisconsin

$7.25 an hour. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. The Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Wyoming

$5.15, but the federal minimum wage applies to employers with 6 or more employees covered by the FLSA. Federal overtime rules apply. The Wyoming Department of Workforce Services website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.

Minimum Wage and Overtime Pay Requirements for Select U.S. Territories

Guam

$8.75 an hour. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. The Guam Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in Guam.

Puerto Rico

$7.25 per hour with overtime pay required after 8 hours worked in a day or 40 hours in a week. Puerto Rico applies a variable minimum wage that differs between industries. Further, employers covered by the federal wage and hour law, the FLSA, are required to pay the higher federal minimum wage. If employers are not covered by the FLSA, a minimum wage of $5.08 will apply. The Puerto Rico Department of Labor and Human Resources website may have more helpful information on Puerto Rico's wage and labor laws.

U.S. Virgin Islands

$10.50 per hour with overtime required after 8 hours in any day or 40 hours in a given workweek. Overtime includes any hours worked on the 6th and 7th consecutive day of work. The Virgin Islands Department of Labor website may have more helpful information on the U.S. Virgin Islands wage and labor laws.

Is Your Pay Lower Than the Minimum Wage? Talk to a Local Attorney

Most workers would like to be paid more but it is against the law to pay workers below the federal or state minimum wage (whichever is higher). If you believe you're not being paid properly, you may have a valid wage and hour claim. To learn more about your potential claim, speak to a qualified employment attorney near you.

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps

Contact a qualified employment attorney to make sure your rights are protected.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Help Me Find a Do-It-Yourself Solution

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options