Restraining orders, orders of protection, and protective orders are basically the same thing -- a court order requiring an alleged stalker or abuser (or someone else causing extreme apprehension) to cease all contact with the individual seeking the order. Contact includes not just physical proximity, but also phone calls, email, and any other type of communication. Most often, they are issued by courts to protect the victims of stalking or domestic violence. While restraining orders also may be used to protect celebrities from overly-obsessive fans, these instances are actually quite rare.
In Alaska, protective orders related to threats or acts of domestic violence remain in effect until the court orders its termination (six months for other acts). Anyone who violates a protective order in Alaska may have to serve up to one year in jail and up to $25,000 in fines. See the Alaska Court System's Family Law Self-Help Center to learn how to obtain a protective order.
The following article provides a brief overview of protective orders laws in Alaska.
Alaska Protective Orders Laws: At a Glance
Additional provisions of Alaska's protective orders statute are listed in the following chart. See FindLaw's Domestic Violence section for additional articles and resources.
||§ 18.66.100 et seq. of the Alaska Statutes
|Activity Addressed by Order
||Enjoining contacts of domestic violence, communication or entering a propelled vehicle occupied by or possessed by a party; excluding the party from dwelling, award temporary custody; prohibit the respondent from using or possessing weapons; request peace officer accompany petitioner; award custody; prohibit the respondent from consuming controlled substances; pay costs
|Duration of Order
||Until further order of the court for threats and acts of domestic violence 6 months for other acts; can file for an extension
|Penalty for a Violation of Order
||Possible misdemeanor, up to 1 year in jail, up to $25,000 fine
|Who May Apply for Order
||A parent, guardian, or other representative appointed by the court under this section may file a petition for a protective order on behalf of a minor; a court may appoint a guardian ad litem for a minor in proceedings
|Can Fees Be Waived?
||There are no filing fees in the state of Alaska
|Order Transmission to Law Enforcement
||Copy of order transmitted to the appropriate local law enforcement agency
|Civil Liability for Violation of Order
||Yes, subject to civil contempt
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
Alaska Protective Order Laws: Related Resources
Get Help with a Protective Order Today
If someone is hurting or threatening to hurt you, there are resources available for you when you're ready. Contact the National Domestic Violence Hotline for 24/7/365 support at 800-799-7233. If you've been abused or fear someone may abuse you in the near future, you may want to get a protective order.
Please contact an Alaska domestic violence attorney for help.