Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Arkansas Indecent Exposure Laws

Taking to the streets in your birthday suit may feel like a liberating experience, but these risk takers should know that exposing sex organs in a public place may result in time behind bars and loads of monetary fines.

If it's a first offense, Arkansas indecent exposure laws only punish violators with misdemeanors. However, repeat offenders will find a felony attached to their name if they expose themselves to others more than a handful of times. This is a quick summary of the indecent exposure laws in Arkansas.

Private Acts That Violate Arkansas Indecent Exposure Laws

Under Arkansas indecent exposure laws, certain private acts may also be considered a violation. If a person knows that exposing his or her sex organs will offend another person but does so anyways behind close doors, this person may still be convicted of indecent exposure. The following table outlines the specifics of Arkansas indecent exposure laws.

Code Sections

Arkansas Code §5-14-112: Indecent Exposure

What's Prohibited?

A person violates Arkansas indecent exposure laws if, with the purpose to arouse or gratify a sexual desire of himself or herself or of any other person, the person exposes his or her sex organs:

  • In a public place or in public view; or

  • Under circumstances in which the person knows the conduct is likely to cause affront or alarm.

A woman is not in violation of this section for breastfeeding a child in a public place or any place where other individuals are present.


Generally, a violation of Arkansas indecent exposure laws is a Class A misdemeanor. A Class A misdemeanor is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.

However, a fourth or fifth conviction within 10 years of a previous conviction elevates the penalty to a Class D felony. A Class D felony is punishable by up to six years in prison, a fine of up to $10,000, or both.

A sixth conviction and each successive conviction within 10 years of a previous conviction becomes a Class C felony. A Class C felony is punished by a minimum three years but not more than 10 years, a fine of up to $10,000, or both.

Exposing yourself to others in public is a crime in almost every state in America. Arkansas is not an exception. If you have been convicted of indecent exposure and would like additional legal assistance, you can contact an Arkansas criminal defense lawyer through FindLaw. Visit FindLaw's sections on indecent exposure and criminal charges for more articles and information on this topic.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • Complex cases usually require a lawyer
  • Experienced lawyers can seek to reduce or eliminate criminal penalties
  • Sexual assaults & sex crime convictions often have long sentences and lifelong consequences

Get tailored legal advice and ask a lawyer questions. Many attorneys offer free consultations.


 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options