Connecticut Security Deposit Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
A security deposit is any advance rental payment other than an advance for the first month's rent or a deposit for a key or any special equipment. A security deposit remains the tenant's property but the landlord holds a security interest in it. Connecticut security deposits must be kept in an escrow account in a local bank.
How Large a Security Deposit Can a Connecticut Landlord Require?
Landlords can't require more than two months rent as a security deposit. This limit is reduced to one month's rent if a tenant is 62 years of age or older.
Do Landlords Pay Tenants Interest on Security Deposits?
Yes. Landlords must pay tenants interest on security deposits of at least the average commercial banks savings deposit rate as annually determined and published by the Banking Commissioner. Interest must be paid annually on the anniversary date of a tenancy either directly to tenants or as a credit towards the next month's rent.
What if a Tenant Is Late Paying Rent?
Tenants forfeit interest on their security deposits for any months when they are more than ten days late paying their rent. The only exception is when a tenant's rental agreement already contains a late charge for overdue rental payments.
How to File a Complaint with the Fair Rent Commission
Call or go to the Fair Rent Commission office in your town. Not all towns have a Commission. Call Info line: 2-1-1. You will also need to do the following:
- Ask for a complaint form and fill it out.
- Make two copies of your complaint.
- File your complaint at the Commission.
- Take a copy of your complaint to the Housing Code Office and ask them to inspect your apartment as soon as possible.
The following table highlights the main provisions of Connecticut's Security Deposit Law. See Security Deposit Laws for more general information on those topics.
|Statute||Sec. 47a-21. Security deposits|
"Cleaning deposit," "last month's rent," "key deposit," "pet deposit"
|Security Deposit Minimum||
|Security Deposit Maximum||
Two months Rent
|What Can A Landlord Deduct?||Unpaid rent, damage in excess of normal wear and tear, and cleaning costs to return the unit back to a move-in ready condition. -|
|How Long For Return of Security Deposit?||
A landlord must return the tenant's security deposit within 30 days after the tenant has surrendered the rental property to the landlord (that is, returned the keys and vacated the property) or within 15 days of receiving the tenant's forwarding address, whichever is later.
Note: Because housing laws are complicated and change from time to time, it may also be a good idea to consult an experienced Connecticut landlord-tenant lawyer or contact the Connecticut Department of Banking if you have questions about your specific situation.
Research the Law:
- Connecticut Code
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Connecticut Security Deposit Limit Laws: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.