Security Deposit Return Timelines
By FindLaw Staff | Legally reviewed by Chris Meyers, Esq. | Last reviewed December 05, 2022
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
- Landlord's Obligations in Returning the Security Deposit
- Tenant's Rights When a Landlord Doesn't Return the Security Deposit
- Related Resources
- Learn More From a Lawyer
When you rent a house or apartment, you'll most likely be asked for a security deposit, along with your first month's (and perhaps also last month's) rent before you move in.
The deposit is the landlord's way of making sure that they have money to cover the cost of damages to the rental unit, cleaning, and/or unpaid rent. Note, however, that the landlord can't charge you for normal wear and tear of the rental property.
That's a lot of money to pay at once, but keep in mind that you will most likely get back all or most of the amount of the security deposit at the end of the lease term. States recognize the need for renters to get their deposit back as soon as possible when they move out and have to pay another deposit for their next rental.
Your security deposit return and deposit amounts are governed by state laws. These laws outline how long your landlord has to return your security deposit (along with other deposit-related provisions).
How Much Time Does a Landlord Have to Return the Security Deposit After the Tenant Moves?
Here are some guidelines on how long a landlord has to return a tenant's security deposit. Always check your state's laws, because many time-periods have exceptions to these general rules:
14 days: Alaska, Arizona, Hawaii, Nebraska, South Dakota, Vermont, Washington.
20 days: Delaware, Rhode Island.
21 days: California, Idaho, Minnesota.
30 days: Arkansas, Connecticut, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Wyoming.
One month: Colorado, Georgia, Louisiana.
45 days: District of Columbia, Indiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Virginia.
No deadline: Tennessee, West Virginia.
Others: Alabama (35 days), Florida (15 to 60 days, depending on whether the tenant disputes the deductions), New York ("a reasonable time"), Oregon (31 days).
While "a reasonable time" is tricky with respect to New York's security deposit return deadlines. This is decided on a case-by-case basis in small claims court (should it get to that point).
Tenant's Rights When a Landlord Doesn't Return the Security Deposit
If your landlord fails to return your security deposit or you believe your security deposit return is overdue, give your landlord written notice by letter or email before taking your case to court. Also keep in mind that most state laws establish a limit on how much a landlord may charge for a security deposit, typically equal to one month's rent.
Related Resources on Security Deposits
- Rent and Security Deposit Tips; A guide for landlords on best practices for handling rent and security deposits, such as establishing firm deadlines and putting rental agreements into writing.
- Security Deposit Laws Can Help You Get Your Deposit Back; How a landlord may deduct from your deposit to pay for repairs and other expenses. It is always a good idea to consult with a landlord-tenant attorney to discuss your options.
- The Difference Between Last Month's Rent and a Security Deposit; An introduction to the legal difference between a "security deposit" and "last month's rent."
Learn More About Security Deposit Return Timelines From a Lawyer
It was hard enough just coming up with the money for the security deposit when you signed the lease last year. But now you're trying to put a deposit on a new place and you're still waiting to get it back. What can you do? If your landlord hasn't complied with state law, and you've already sent them a letter asking for payment, you may need to file a claim. Get legal advice today by talking to a skilled landlord-tenant attorney near you.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Contact a qualified real estate attorney to help you navigate any landlord-tenant issues.