Connecticut Statute of Limitations for Product Defects
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
Statutes of limitations on civil cases such as product defects are intended to create general fairness and reliability when it comes to filing lawsuits. Plaintiffs are required to decide whether to file a lawsuit or not in a timely matter. On the other hand, potential defendants should receive notice that they may have committed some harm against another party. The limitation ensures they will not have a legal matter hanging over their head indefinitely.
Statute of Repose
A statute of repose takes effect when an action is completed, not on the date of a person’s actual injury.
Please note that you should not confuse statutes of repose with statutes of limitations. Statutes of limitations are generally laws that apply to all types of injuries and limit the time period you are able to bring suit after the date of your injury. In Connecticut, you have three years to commence suit from the date of your injury on product liability claims. Therefore, as a general rule in Connecticut, in order to have a valid product liability claim you must commence suit within three years from date of injury and the product must have been bought or entered the stream of commerce within the last ten years; both requirements must be met.
Statutes of repose, on the other hand, are common defenses used in product liability cases. When a statute of repose is considered, the date a product is made, sold or even delivered can affect the date that the statute applies. Like statutes of limitations, statutes of repose vary from state to state.
Connecticut Product Defect Statute of Limitations
In Connecticut, a product liability lawsuit must be filed with the court within three years. The statute of repose is 10-years once the manufacturer or seller has parted with the product. The time limit can be extended if there is an express written warranty stating that the product may be used for a period longer than 10 years
Statutes of limitations and statutes of repose, however, can be applied in many types of lawsuits, including:
- Defective drug litigation
- Defective medical device lawsuits
- Personal injury claims
- Product liability claims
- Auto accident cases
- Wrongful death suits
The following table lists the main provisions of Connecticut's statute of limitations for product liability laws, while additional background information follows. See FindLaw's Product Liability section for more information.
|Statute||Conn. Gen. Stat. Sec. 52-577a|
An action must be brought within three years from the time when the injury is or should have been discovered. The state has enacted a 10-year statute of repose that begins to run once the manufacturer or seller has last parted with the product.
Note: Because of how important it is to understand the specific statute of limitation in the state where a lawsuit may be filed, you'll want to seek legal advice as soon as possible after suffering an injury from a defective or dangerous product. And while full legal representation always comes with a price, you can get started today with a free legal review of your potential claim. Contact a Connecticut product liability attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law:
- Connecticut Code
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Connecticut Product Liability Laws: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.