Idaho Wage and Hour Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
In the United States there are wage and hour laws that set minimum standards regarding the terms of a worker's employment. These laws set the minimum amount that an employee may make per hour, overtime pay requirements, child labor laws, etc.
Employers are required to abide by both the federal wage and hour laws that are outlined in the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), and the wage and hour laws in effect in the employer's state. This article provides a brief overview of Idaho's wage and hour laws.
Idaho's Minimum Wage Law
|Idaho Code section 44-1502: Minimum Wages|
Hourly Wage Requirement
|Employers in Idaho may not pay an employee less than $7.25 per hour (this amount reflects the federal minimum wage).|
Discriminatory Wage Rates Based on Sex
In Idaho, it is illegal to discriminate between employees in the same establishment on the basis of sex, by paying wages to any employee at a rate less than the rate at which he pays any employee of the opposite sex for comparable work.
Idaho's Overtime Pay Law
The federal overtime pay laws apply in Idaho because the state hasn't enacted an overtime statute of its own. Under the FLSA's overtime pay statute, employees must be paid at least 1½ times their regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours in a workweek.
- Idaho Department of Labor
- A Guide to Idaho Labor Laws
- FAQs: Wage and Hour Laws
- State Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws
State laws change frequently. For case specific information regarding Idaho's wage and hour laws contact a local employment law attorney.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.