Skip to main content
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Maine Car Accident Report Basics

Maine has some impressively scenic driving routes, especially in the fall and along the coast. But, whether you're cruising one of the state's scenic byways or stuck in Portland traffic, you're still at risk of being involved in a car accident. If such an unfortunate event does occur, you'll need to know what state law requires of you. Read on to learn more about Maine car accident report basics.

Maine Car Accident Report Laws

Immediately after a car accident in Maine, you must stop your car and provide reasonable assistance to anyone who is injured. You're also required to exchange information with others involved, providing your name, address, vehicle registration number, and (if requested) show them your driver's license and proof of liability insurance.

You also have to notify law enforcement immediately and by the quickest means of communication available if the crash results in death, injury, or property damage to an apparent extent of $1,000 or more. Failing to do so is considered a Class E crime in Maine, punishable by up to six months in jail, a $1,000 fine, and license suspension or revocation.

How to File a Car Crash Report in Maine

After you notify law enforcement, the investigating officer will interview participants and witnesses, and will submit the report to the Chief of the State Police. Their report must be sufficiently detailed to disclose the cause, conditions, and the people and vehicles involved in the accident. It must also include verification of financial responsibility, such as the requisite amount of car insurance covering each vehicle.

Maine Car Accident Report Laws at a Glance

The chart below provides a summary of state laws related to Maine car accident reports, including links to key statutes.


Law Enforcement Notification Required

  • Must notify police immediately if accident occurs on a public road and involves injury, death, or property damage to an apparent extent of at least $1,000

Report Required

  • Law enforcement must submit report to the Chief of the State Police and the Secretary of State
  • Secretary of State may request additional information from vehicle owners or drivers regarding proof of financial responsibility such as car insurance

Report Deadline

  • Law enforcement must submit report to Chief of State Police within five days from time of notification of the accident

Who Must Report

  • Every driver of an involved vehicle, or person acting for the driver
  • If driver is unknown and not the owner of the vehicle, the owner must file the report

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Maine Car Accident Report Basics: Related Resources

Have Questions About Car Accident Reporting Requirements in Maine? Talk to a Lawyer

While some car accidents are resolved quickly through fair insurance claims, others become a huge hassle with significant legal, financial, and even criminal ramifications. Whether you caused a major wreck or were side-swiped by a distracted driver, it's crucial to understand your legal rights and obligations. Contact a local car accident attorney to learn more about your options and to ensure that you've complied with reporting requirements under Maine's car accident report laws.

Was this helpful?

Thank you. Your response has been sent.

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • A lawyer can help seek fair compensation on your behalf
  • Car accident claims are complex and insurance carriers have lawyers on their side

Get tailored legal advice and ask a lawyer questions about your accident. Many attorneys offer free consultations.


 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options