Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Minnesota Cocaine Laws

Cocaine is a tightly controlled substance in all U.S. jurisdictions, typically classified as a Schedule II drug and prohibited for recreational and nearly all other uses. Federal and state laws provide guidelines and penalties for the possession, sale, or trafficking of cocaine. While some states have backed away from the enforcement of mandatory minimum sentences, Minnesota imposes mandatory minimums for third-degree controlled substance offenses, depending on the offender's criminal history.

Sale of any amount of cocaine is charged as a felony in Minnesota, carrying a possible 20-year sentence, while possession of up to 3 grams may result in up to five years (with the option of drug court for many offenders).

Minnesota Drug Courts and Alternatives to Prison

Minnesota is one of a growing number of states offering alternatives to prison for certain non-violent drug offenses. The purpose of Minnesota drug court is to reduce recidivism (or return visits to prison) by helping those convicted of low-level drug charges overcome their drug addition. For instance, someone who is arrested for simple possession and is deemed to have a substance abuse problem may be eligible (excluding anyone with a history of violent crime, gang activity, or drug sales).

Additional details of Minnesota cocaine laws are listed below. For more general information, see FindLaw's Drug Charges section.

Code Section 152.01, et seq.
Possession Up to 3 grams: 5th degree felony (0-5 yrs. and/or $10,000); 3-6 grams: 3rd degree felony (up to 20 yrs. and/or $250,000); 6-25 grams: 2nd degree felony (up to 25 yrs. and/or $500,000); Over 25 grams: 1st degree felony (up to 30 yrs. and/or $1,000,000); Subsequent offense: depends on level of prior offenses, 4-40 yrs. and/or up to $1,000,000
Sale Any amount: up to 20 yrs. and/or $250,000; 3-10 g.: up to 25 yrs. and/or $500,000; Over 10 g.: up to 30 yrs. and/or $1,000,000; Subsequent offense: depends on level of prior offense, 4-40 yrs. and/or up to $1,000,000; Sale to minor -any amount: up to 25 yrs. and/or $500,000
Trafficking -

Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Minnesota drug crimes attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Research the Law

Minnesota Cocaine Laws: Related Resources

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • Complex drug crimes usually require a lawyer
  • Experienced drug crime lawyers can seek to reduce or eliminate criminal penalties
  • Drug crime laws involve many specifics that can quickly change a case

Get tailored legal advice and ask a lawyer questions. Many Minnesota attorneys offer free consultations for Drug Crime.


 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options