Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Minnesota Marijuana Laws

Laws surrounding the cultivation, possession, and sale of marijuana underwent radical change beginning in 1996, when California voters approved the medical use of the herb for those with a valid doctor's recommendation. Since then, other states have either legalized medical marijuana, decriminalized the drug, or even legalized it outright. Minnesota has decriminalized possession to a degree, imposing a $200 fine for possession of up to 42.5 grams, while medical marijuana legislation was signed into law in 2014.

Possession of more than 42.5 grams of the drug is charged as a felony, with a maximum possible sentence of five years in prison and a $5,000 fine. The most severe penalty is reserved for those convicted of selling more than 50 kg. of marijuana, with a possible 30-year prison sentence and $500,000 fine.

Additional details of Minnesota's marijuana laws can be found in the following chart. See FindLaw's Drug Charges section for more articles, including Drug Manufacturing and Cultivation.

Code Section Minnesota Health Statutes 152.01, et seq.
Possession Less than 42.5 grams: petty misdemeanor ($200 and possible drug education program); 42.5 grams - 10 kilograms: felony (up to 5 yrs. and $5,000); 10 - 50 kilograms: felony (up to 20 yrs. and/or $250,000); 50 - 100 kilograms: felony (up to 25 yrs. and/or $500,000); 100+ kilograms: felony (up to 30 yrs. and/or $1,000,000); Subsequent offense: depends on level of prior offense; if misdemeanor, may be required to participate in chemical dependency evaluation and treatment; more than 1.4 grams inside one's vehicle, except for the trunk: misdemeanor (up to 90 days in jail and/or $1,000 fine).
Sale Less than 42.5 grams without remuneration: petty misdemeanor with fine of up to $200; 42.5 grams - 5 kilograms: up to 5 yrs. and/or $10,000; 5 - 25 kilograms: up to 20 yrs. and/or $250,000; 25 - 50 kilograms: up to 25 yrs. and/or $500,000; more than 50 kilograms: up to 30 yrs. and/or $1,000,000; 5 kilograms or more in school or park or public housing zone: up to 25 yrs. and/or $500,000
Trafficking -

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Research the Law

Minnesota Marijuana Laws: Related Resources

Busted for Possession of Weed? Get Help From a Minnesota Attorney

It can be difficult to keep up with the evolving marijuana laws in Minnesota. If you are facing drug charges involving marijuana, then you should consult with a defense attorney who can assess your options and put up a solid defense on your behalf. Don't delay; find an experienced drug crimes defense attorney near you today.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • Complex drug crimes usually require a lawyer
  • Experienced drug crime lawyers can seek to reduce or eliminate criminal penalties
  • Drug crime laws involve many specifics that can quickly change a case

Get tailored legal advice and ask a lawyer questions. Many Minnesota attorneys offer free consultations for Drug Crime.


 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options