Mississippi decriminalized marijuana in 1978 and legalized CBD in 2014. The most recent action was in 2020 -- it was proposed to legalize medical cannabis through Initiative 65. This decision was overturned by the Mississippi Supreme Court in May 2021. No marijuana is legal in Mississippi for medical or recreational use, aside from CBD oil.
You can learn more Information on Illegal Drug Laws on our Drug Law page.
||41-29-101, et seq.; 41-29-139
||<30 g.: $100-$250; second conviction: $250 and 5-60 days jail; third conviction: $250-$500 and 5 days-6 months jail; 30-250 g.: $1000 and/or 1 yr. jail, or $3000 and/or 3 yrs. prison; 250-500 g.: 2-8 yrs. and up to $50,000; 500 g.-1 kg.: 4-16 yrs. and up to $250,000; 1-5 kg.: 6-24 yrs. and up to $500,000; >5 kg.: 10-30 yrs. and up to $1 million
||Under 1 oz.: up to 3 yrs. and/or $3000; First-time offender with over 1 oz. but less than 1 kg.: up to 20 yrs. and/or $30,000; Over 1 oz.: up to 30 yrs. and/or $5,000 to $1,000,000; Subsequent offense: double penalties
||Anyone over 21 selling 10 lbs. or more of marijuana during any 12 month period shall have life in prison without suspension/parole
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult a Mississippi drug crime attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law:
Related Resources for Marijuana Laws: