Nebraska Leases and Rental Agreements Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
State lease and rental agreement laws govern certain aspects of the legal relationship between landlords and tenants that is created through a contract. These laws are intended to protect the rights and interests of each party, with regulations regarding the general terms allowed in leases, the maximum amount that may be required for a security deposit, deadlines for returning deposits, and more. Also, landlords are prohibited from discrimination by both federal and state laws, with exceptions for age limits in certain instances (such as planned retirement communities).
Some states have adopted the Uniform Residential Landlord & Tenant Act, a model piece of legislation that requires landlords to meet minimum standards for safe housing and generally equalizes the bargaining positions of landlords and tenants.
Overview of Nebraska Lease and Rental Agreement Laws
The state of Nebraska's lease and rental agreement laws are similar to those in other states, with a deposit limit equal to one month's rent (and a 1.25 month's rent limit for pet deposits). After termination of the lease, the landlord is required to return the deposit -- minus any amount used for cleaning and repairs -- within 14 days. Nebraska has adopted the Uniform Residential Landlord and Tenant Act.
The following table lists additional details about Nebraska lease and rental agreement laws. See FindLaw's Rental and Lease Agreements section for more articles.
|Code Section||18-1724; 76-1414, 76-1416|
|Terms of Leases||Holdover converts to month-to-month tenancy unless tenant pays weekly, then week-to-week|
|Deposits||Limit 1 month rent plus one-fourth of 1 month rent for pet deposit; deposit must be returned within 14 days after demand and designation of location to be mailed|
|Discrimination||No discrimination on basis of race, color, creed, religion, ancestry, sex, marital status, national origin, familial status, handicap or disability|
|Uniform Residential Landlord & Tenant Act Adopted?||Yes|
Note: State laws are not carved in stone and may change at any time, usually through the enactment of newly signed laws but sometimes through appellate court decisions and other means. You may want to contact a Nebraska landlord-tenant law attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Nebraska Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Nebraska Lease and Rental Agreement Laws: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.