Nevada Overtime Laws
Unlike many other states, the State of Nevada has multiple overtime pay law provisions. The first overtime law provision follows the federal law of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), which mandates that, under the overtime requirements, employers pay overtime rates of one-half times (1.5) of the non-exempt employee's regular rate of pay for each hour of work in excess of 40 in a workweek.
Second, Nevada employers must pay a hourly wage, plus overtime at the rate of 1.5 times the employee's regular payrate, for all hours worked in excess of an eight hour shift in a workday. However, this provision only applies to employees who are compensated less than 1.5 times the minimum wage rate in Nevada.
Nevada Overtime Law Overview
Nevada overtime laws and their primary provisions can be viewed in the following table.
State and Federal Statutes
Overtime Calculation Methods
Exempt from FLSA
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Application of Nevada Overtime Laws
Because of the way Nevada overtime laws are structured, employees may only be entitled to certain overtime wages. For example, an employee can collect overtime for hours worked over eight in a 24 hour period only if they make less than 1.5 times Nevada's minimum wage. If an employee gets paid more than 1.5 times Nevada's minimum wage, then they can only collect overtime pay for hours worked in excess of 40 in a week.
Nevada Overtime Exemptions
Specific types of employees are exempted under Nevada overtime laws, including:
- Executive employees
- Administrative employees
- Professional employees
- Employees not covered by Nevada minimum wage provisions
- Outside buyers
- Retail or service business employees
- Employees covered by collective bargaining agreements which provide otherwise for overtime
- Drivers, drivers' helpers, loaders and mechanics for motor carriers
- Employees of a railroad
- Employees of a carrier by air
- Drivers or drivers' helpers making local deliveries and paid on a trip-rate basis or other delivery payment plan
- Drivers of taxicabs or limousines
- Agricultural employees
- Employees of business enterprises having an annual gross sales volume of less than $250,000
- Any salesperson or mechanic primarily engaged in selling or servicing automobiles, trucks or farm equipment
- Certain mechanics or workers for any hours under Nevada state law and the Department of Labor
Research the Law
Denied Overtime in Nevada? Get in Touch With an Attorney
As demonstrated above, Nevada wage laws have several overtime compensation provisions that may or may not apply to your situation. If you believe your employer owes you overtime pay, or if you have any further questions about Nevada overtime laws, you should seek legal advice from an experienced Nevada employment or labor law attorney.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.