Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Nevada Tenant Rights Laws

Whether you rent property in Las Vegas, Reno, or anywhere in between, there are some important laws every Nevada renter should know about. Nevada, like all other states, has laws that govern the rights and responsibilities of both landlords and tenants. Read on to learn more about your legal rights as a Nevada tenant.

Nevada Tenants Rights Laws at a Glance

Nevada law contains provisions that specifically address the landlord/tenant relationship. This law includes tenant protections such as a limitation on the amount a landlord can require as a security deposit and a set timeline for returning the deposit after you have moved out. Nevada also allows you to "repair and deduct," or pay for critical repairs if a landlord refuses to do so and deduct that amount from your rent payment.

Also, while the federal Fair Housing Act applies to all states, Nevada has its own anti-discrimination laws to expand the classes of protected people. Under federal law, it's illegal for a landlord to discriminate against a tenant on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, disability, or familial status. Nevada law expands these protections to include those who are discriminated against on the basis of sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender expression.

The below chart provides more detail about Nevada's tenants' rights laws.


Security Deposits

  • Landlords can't require a security deposit in excess of the equivalent of 3 months' rent
  • Landlords can't require a security deposit in excess of the equivalent of 3 months' rent

Paying Rent

  • Landlord must provide at least 45 days' notice before raising rent

Living Conditions

  • Landlord is obligated to maintain premises in habitable condition
  • Tenant has the right to "repair and deduct" if landlord fails to make important repairs
  • Landlord must provide 24 hours' advance notice before entering unit, unless in case of emergency
  • Tenant can't unreasonably withhold permission for landlord to enter


  • Landlords are prohibited from discriminating against tenant on the basis of race, religion, gender, disability, or familial status

Ending or Renewing a Tenancy

  • If tenant doesn't pay rent or fails to comply with lease, landlord must provide 5 days' notice to pay or leave, after which landlord can commence eviction proceedings
  • If landlord is in non-compliance with the lease or fails to keep the unit habitable, tenant has the right, after giving 14 days' notice, to terminate a lease


  • Landlords may not increase rent in a retaliatory way

Note: State regulations are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Related Nevada Tenant's Rights Resources

Get a Free Evaluation of Your Landlord/Tenant Case

Feeling uncertain or uncomfortable about your living situation can be difficult. As a tenant, there are remedies available to you if your landlord is acting illegally. In addition to reviewing Nevada landlord/tenant resources, consider getting legal help from an experienced professional. Contact a local attorney for a free initial evaluation of your landlord/tenant case.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select
Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options