New Jersey Employment Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
State employment laws identify minimum wage and pay day requirements, and regulate issues like labor union membership and the right to organize. New Jersey has its own set of state employment laws. For instance, the current minimum wage is $8.25 per hour, with an automatic increase should the federal minimum wage rise above the state rate. Like most states, overtime is required for time worked beyond 40 hours in a week in New Jersey. There are also weekly payday requirements for manual workers. Choose a link from the list below for detailed information on employment laws in your state.
Learn About New Jersey Employment Laws
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.