New Mexico Wage and Hour Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
Wage and hour laws require employers to pay a minimum hourly wage, compensate employees for overtime worked, pay wages in a timely manner, and otherwise create a fair and just working environment. Both federal and state governments have the power to enact wage and hour laws.
New Mexico's wage and hour laws are contained in the New Mexico Minimum Wage Act; however, these state laws are required to comply with the federal wage and hour laws contained in the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). The FLSA acts as a minimum standard that state laws aren't allowed to fall below. The chart below outlines the main aspects on New Mexico's wage and hour laws.
|New Mexico Minimum Wage Act
Minimum Wage Rate
|The minimum wage in New Mexico (as of January 1st, 2009) is $7.50 per hour. However, some cities also have their own minimum wage rates. For example, the minimum wage in Albuquerque is $8.50 and $10.51 in Santa Fe.
Minimum Wage Exceptions
Agricultural Workers: An employer that provides food, utilities, supplies, or housing to an employee who is working in agriculture may deduct the reasonable value of these items from the employee's wages.
Tipped Employees: A tipped employee (an employee who customarily and regularly receives more than $30 a month in tips) can be paid a minimum hourly wage of at least $2.13.
Overtime Wage Rate
|Overtime pay is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. An employee's overtime wage rate must be at least 1½ times the employee's regular hourly rate of pay.
Overtime Wage Exceptions
|Employers are exempt from paying the following employees the overtime wage listed above:
|An employer who violates any provision of this act is guilty of a misdemeanor. Violators are also liable to the affected employees for their unpaid or underpaid minimum wages, plus interest.
- New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions
- Child Labor Laws in New Mexico
- Federal Minimum Wage Information
- Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws by State
State laws change frequently. For case specific information regarding New Mexico's wage and hour laws contact a local employment attorney.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.