Ohio Employment Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
The federal government sets minimum standard for employment protection, such as the federal minimum wage and laws prohibiting discrimination. But states have their own employment laws, either strengthening federal laws or adding new protections altogether. The basic minimum wage in Ohio is $7.25 per hour, but goes up to $7.95 per hour if the employer grosses over $283,000 annually. This section covers Ohio employment laws and regulations, including state civil rights laws; payday requirements; legal holidays; statutes protecting whistleblowers; and labor laws affecting unions. If you need more information, contact a Texas employment law attorney.
Learn About Ohio Employment Laws
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.