Ohio Wage and Hour Laws
Laws that regulate minimum wage, meal breaks, employee leave, and related matters collectively are referred to as wage and hour laws. While federal laws provide a baseline of protections for workers, including the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and the federal minimum wage, states often provide an additional layer of protection. For instance, Ohio's minimum wage is $2.05 higher than the federal minimum.
The following will help you learn about Ohio wage rates and Ohiolabor laws, including minimum wage; overtime pay; meal and rest breaks; and leave laws.
Ohio Wage and Hour Laws: The Basics
Although the State of Ohio's wage and hour laws apply to most Ohio employees throughout the state, it's not always easy to understand how these laws are applied in a given situation. The following summary will help you get up to speed on Ohio's minimum wage, break requirements, leave laws, and other related matters.
Ohio Revised Code:
$9.30 / hr. ($4.65 / hr. for tipped employees).
Note: The Ohio Constitution requires the state minimum wage to increase with inflation annually, in accordance with increases in the Consumer Price Index.
Employers must pay nonexempt employees (which includes agricultural employees) 1 and 1/2 times the regular rate of pay for every hour worked in excess of 40 per week (following federal law). Exemptions from overtime requirements include:
|Meals and Breaks||
Ohio law does not require employers to provide lunch breaks to employees, but they must pay employees when they're given breaks of 20 minutes or less (following federal law).
Meal breaks that are at least 30 minutes may be unpaid provided the employee is relieved of all duties during the meal break (per federal law).
Ohio law doesn't provide additional family and medical leave beyond that provided by federal law (FMLA).
However, Ohio extends leave and reinstatement protections granted under the federal Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA) to Ohio National Guard members.
|Severance Pay||Not required|
|Agency||Ohio Department of Commerce: Bureau of Wage & Hour Administration|
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Ohio Law - Information about Ohio statutes, including those pertaining to criminal, family, employment, and injury law.
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Ohio Wage and Hour Laws: Related Resources
- State Pay Day Requirements
- Ohio Civil Statute of Limitations
- Ohio Whistleblower Laws
- Minimum Wage Laws
Get Legal Help With Your Ohio Wage and Hour Concerns
No matter how much love your job, you always count on that paycheck at the end of the pay period or workweek. and sometimes. When employers violate overtime laws and wage theft, they open themselves up to litigation. If your rights have been violated, you should consider your legal options. Get legal advice today by contacting an experienced Ohio employment law attorney.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.