Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Wyoming Marijuana Laws

In Wyoming, a person caught with up to three ounces of pot faces a misdemeanor conviction with a penalty of up to a year in jail and a fine of $1,000. A third conviction can carry a five-year prison sentence and a $5,000 fine.

The possession, sale, trafficking, and cultivation of marijuana is illegal in all states except neighboring Colorado and Washington (where it is tightly regulated). In addition, a growing number of states is allowing for the medicinal use of marijuana by those who have obtained a physician's recommendation. Indeed, almost 20 states have passed some form of decriminalization of marijuana. (Typically, decriminalization means no prison time or criminal record for first-time possession of a small amount for personal consumption.) Still, marijuana remains illegal in Wyoming, including medical uses.

One Wyoming Lawmaker Tried to Change Things.

Sponsor Jim Byrd, a Cheyenne Democrat, wanted the state to turn cannabis possession cases into civil offenses: Fine anybody with up to a half ounce $50 and anybody with a half ounce to an ounce $100. In a floor vote, lawmakers voted 38-22 to kill the bill. Another bill that would have allowed medical marijuana for patients suffering from long-term pain, glaucoma or migraines was voted down at the same time.

It seems Wyoming lawmakers have had their fill of the marijuana debate for a while. They are now considering House Bill 187, which would prohibit any new bills or discussion of marijuana policy while the state spends $15,000 on a study of the drug’s impacts on the criminal justice system, public health and state revenue.

The following charts highlights the main provisions of Wyoming marijuana laws. See FindLaw's Drug Charges section for more articles and resources.

Code Section 35-7-1001 to 1057
Possession Less than 3 oz.: misdemeanor, up to 1 yr. and/or $1000; Over 3 oz.: felony, up to 5 yrs. and/or $10,000; Subsequent offense: up to 5 yrs. and/or $5000 or double penalties
Sale Up to 10 yrs. and/or $10,000; Subsequent offense or sale to minor or sale in drug-free zone: double penalties
Trafficking -

Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Wyoming drug crime attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Wyoming Marijuana Laws: Related Resources

Busted for Pot in Wyoming? Get Help From an Attorney Today

Marijuana laws are changing at a rapid pace, but the herb is still illegal in Wyoming for any type of use. In fact, the state has some of the strictist marijuana laws in the nation, with the possibility of jail time for the possession of any amount of marijuana. Don't face your case alone; contact a Wyoming defense attorney with experience handling drug cases today.


Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • Complex drug crimes usually require a lawyer
  • Experienced drug crime lawyers can seek to reduce or eliminate criminal penalties
  • Drug crime laws involve many specifics that can quickly change a case

Get tailored legal advice and ask a lawyer questions. Many Wyoming attorneys offer free consultations for Drug Crime.


 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options