Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Civil Rights Laws and Resources

Fundamental protections against unequal treatment on the basis of skin color, gender, religion, and other legally recognized attributes are known collectively as civil rights. These are considered essential protections in a free society. Various federal and state laws address different kinds of discrimination and related civil rights violations within different realms of daily life, such as education or employment. The Civil Rights Laws and Resources section contains the full text of the Civil Rights Act of 1964; a list of the different federal laws addressing civil rights; a directory of civil rights enforcement offices, both state and federal; and links to related resources.

Learn About Civil Rights Laws and Resources

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:
Was this helpful?

Response sent, thank you

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options