Connecticut Sick Leave Law
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed January 19, 2021
Connecticut passed the Paid Sick Leave Act making it the first state mandating paid sick leave for qualifying employees. This legislation went into effect on January 1, 2012. There are some limitations regarding the types of employees covered by the sick leave law. Here's what they look like.
Companies with 50 or more employees.
Covered employees receive 1 hour of paid sick leave for every 40 hours they work, maxing out at 40 hours (5 days). Up to 5 days of paid sick leave can be carried over from one year to the next, but an employee can't use more than 5 days of paid sick leave in any calendar year.
Qualifying Reasons for Leave:
A covered employee is allowed to use accrued sick leave for their own, their spouse's, or their child's:
- Illness, injury, or health condition
- Medical diagnosis, care, or treatment of a mental or physical illness, injury, or health condition
- Preventive medical care.
Also, workers who are victims of family violence or sexual assault are allowed to use accrued sick leave for treatment, services, relocation, participation in legal proceedings, and other related needs.
Changes Expected in 2022
A new law that comes into effect on Jan. 2022, will make significant changes to the existing Family and Leave Act. Some of these changes include:
- The Act will apply to all employers in the private sector with at least one employee
- Employees who were employed for three months are eligible under this Act
- The Act allows eligible employees to receive a maximum of $900 per week for up to 12 weeks
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Contact a qualified employment attorney to make sure your rights are protected.