Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Alaska Leases and Rental Agreements Laws

Leases are legally binding contracts that outline the rights and responsibilities of the parties involved, primarily the landlord and tenant. Ideally, the lease (or rental agreement) protects the interests of each party in a way that creates a relatively level playing field. State laws regulate rental agreements, typically with limits on how much deposit a landlord may charge, when deposits are due, and other elements of a lease. State (and federal) housing laws also prohibit discrimination against current or prospective tenants.

Alaska Lease and Rental Agreement Laws at a Glance

The following table provides details about Alaska's lease and rental agreement laws. See FindLaw's Rental and Lease Agreements section for more articles.

Code Section 18.80.210; 34.03.020, 070, 290
Terms of Leases Unless otherwise agreed, rent is payable monthly and shall be term of month-to-month
Prohibited Rental Agreement Provisions A rental agreement may not provide that the tenant or landlord:
  • Agrees to waive or to forego rights or remedies under this chapter;
  • Authorizes a person to confess judgment on a claim arising out of the rental agreement;
  • Agrees to the exculpation or limitation of any liability of the landlord or tenant arising under the law or to indemnify the landlord or tenant for that liability or the costs connected with it; or
  • Agrees to pay the landlord's attorney fees.
  • Unless otherwise agreed in writing, the tenant may not sublet the premises or assign the rental agreement to another without the landlord's consent.
  • The tenant's right to sublease the premises or assign the rental agreement to another shall be conditioned on obtaining the landlord's consent, which may be withheld for specific reasons (insufficient credit, pets, etc.)
  • When the rental agreement requires the landlord's consent for sublease or assignment, the tenant may secure one or more persons who are willing to occupy the premises. Each prospective occupant shall make a written offer signed and delivered by the prospective occupant to the landlord, containing the following information on the prospective occupant:
  1. Name, age, and present address;
  2. Marital status;
  3. Occupation, place of employment, and name and address of employer;
  4. Number of all other persons who would normally reside with the prospective occupant;
  5. Two credit references, or responsible persons who will confirm the financial responsibility of the prospective occupant; and
  6. Names and addresses of all landlords of the prospective occupant during the prior three years.
Deposits Limit of 2 months rent (unless rent exceeds $2,000/month), interest on deposit not required; deposit must be returned within 14 days of termination if terminate under §§34.03.290, otherwise 30 days
Discrimination No discrimination on basis of sex, physical/mental disability, marital status, changes in marital status, pregnancy, parenthood, race, religion, color, national origin
Uniform Residential Landlord & Tenant Act Adopted? Yes

Note: State laws often change, usually through the enactment of newly signed legislation but sometimes through the decisions of higher courts or other means. You may want to contact an Alaska tenant-landlord law attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Research the Law

Alaska Lease and Rental Agreement Laws: Related Resources

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select
Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options