Alaska Workers' Compensation Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed December 18, 2018
Whether an unexpected moose caused the company car to roll in the ditch or you slipped and fell on the ice that seems to be permanently on your office's doorstep, Alaska workers' compensation laws exist to help you get back on your feet after an injury at work.
The table and explanations below summarize the most crucial components of Alaska workers' compensation laws.
Time Limits on Filing
Time Limits on Benefits
Benefit Amount Caps
As of 1/1/16:
Most workers are covered, but there are exceptions, including:
- A part-time baby-sitter;
- A cleaning person;
- Seasonal workers
- Contracted entertainers
- A commercial fisherman
Covered Injuries and Available Benefits
Most injuries and occupational diseases which arise in the course and scope of employment are covered by workers' compensation. Mental injuries are covered in specific circumstances, but not if the mental injury results from a disciplinary action, work evaluation, job transfer, layoff, demotion, termination, or similar action taken in good faith by the employer.
Alaska provides compensation for medical treatment, lost wages from time away from work, compensation for permanent impairment resulting from a work injury, training for a new position, and death benefits including burial expenses.
You must report your injury in writing to your employer within 30 days of your injury. If your workers' compensation insurer denies you benefits, you have two years to file a claim against the insurer. Unless you are unable to work at full capacity for more than 28 days, you will not receive compensation for time away from work for the first three days you are disabled. Fortunately for injured employees, there is no time limit on how long you can receive wage compensation.
Compensation is determined by first establishing your gross weekly earnings. Alaska has several ways of computing this, depending on how your earnings are calculated at the time of your injury. Most importantly, however, is that the maximum compensation rate is 120 percent of the Alaska Average Weekly Wage (AAWW).
If your claim is denied, you must request a hearing before the Workers' Compensation Board by filing an Affidavit of Readiness for Hearing. At the hearing, you or your attorney will present evidence which supports your position. This evidence may include, for instance, testimony from your medical treatment provider or from your coworkers, or documentation proving your compensation rate.
Need Help with Workers' Comp Issues? Contact an Attorney
If your claim is denied, your employer's workers' insurance agent is asking for an official statement, or your employer's doctor is ordering you back to work when you know you aren't fully recovered, you may want to speak with an attorney about workers' comp issues. Contact a personal injury attorney located near you today for help.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.