Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Arkansas Car Accident Compensation Laws

Whether you were in a minor car accident or were partially at fault for your own injuries, you can often receive economic recovery for the losses you suffered. A single accident may lead to loss of wages, physical injuries, medical expenses, and even an uncertain future.

It's important to know what types of damages are available after a car accident and how to calculate them in order to avoid unfair settlements. As with other states, Arkansas has its own laws for personal injury cases, and they can affect the amount of damages you can recover.

Continue reading to learn more about Arkansas car accident compensation laws.

Types of Damages Available in a Car Accident Case

Damages you can recover depend on the losses and types of injuries you suffered. Here is a list of the most common types of damages in car accident cases and how they're treated under Arkansas law:

  Property Damages
  • These are damages to your car and other property.
  • Measure of damages - The value of damages is determined by subtracting the fair market value of your vehicle immediately after the accident from the fair market value of your vehicle immediately before the accident.
  • Additional costs to repair the damaged vehicle may be considered.
  Medical Expenses
  • You may be entitled to both past and future medical expenses.
  Lost Wages
  • These are damages recoverable to compensate your past and future loss of wages.
  Mental Pain and Suffering
  Punitive Damages

Limitations in Recovering Damages in Arkansas

In Arkansas, personal injury claims must be filed within three years of the accident. After this three-year period, you are barred from filing your claim. This law is called a "statute of limitations." Arkansas generally does not impose strict limitations on the amount you can recover in personal injury cases, except in punitive damages.

Statute of Limitations
  • Under relevant law, the statute of limitations is three years.
Compensatory Damages
Punitive Damages
  • Under relevant law, it's $250,000 or three times the amount of compensatory damages awarded in the action, while the amount may not exceed $1 million.
  • Exceptions may also apply under relevant law.

Note: State laws are always subject to change at any time through the enactment of newly passed legislation, higher court decisions, and by other means. You may want to contact an Arkansas personal injury attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Arkansas' Modified Comparative Negligence Rule

Legal damages are typically calculated under three different standards: pure contributory negligence; pure comparative negligence; and modified comparative negligence.

In Arkansas, the state applies the modified comparative negligence standard in personal injury cases. Under this standard, you are able to recover damages as long as you are less than 50% at fault. In other words, the amount of damages will be lessened in proportion to the degree of your fault. However, if you are 50% or more at fault, you won't be able to recover any damages.

For example, if you were 10% at fault and the amount of damages equals $100,000, you would be able to recover $90,000 of damages.

Speak with an Arkansas Attorney about Car Accident Compensation

Not all car accident claims go to court. However, it's easy to overlook your legal options or find yourself agreeing to an unfair settlement. With the help of a skilled attorney, you may have a better chance of recovering the compensation you deserve. In order to best understand your rights, contact an Arkansas car accident attorney right away.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • A lawyer can help seek fair compensation on your behalf
  • Car accident claims are complex and insurance carriers have lawyers on their side

Get on-demand legal help during traffic stops and car accidents. TurnSignl is an app that connects you to an attorney in real-time.

 

Need legal advice after an accident? Most attorneys offer a free first call.

 Find an attorney right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options