Colorado Consumer Tax Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
Most (but not all) states collect taxes on retail sales, while virtually all states levy taxes on such items as cigarettes, gasoline, and alcoholic beverages. State consumer taxes are generally used to raise revenue for the state, but some taxes are also intended to discourage certain behavior deemed unhealthy or contrary to the state's well-being. For instance, alcohol is often linked to domestic violence and other crimes, and can be deadly when intoxicated people get behind the wheel of a car.
Colorado Consumer Taxes at a Glance
The state sales tax rate in Colorado is 2.9 percent, which is extremely low. But here's the catch: Colorado has a complex "home rule" tax system in which local municipalities levy additional taxes on sales of up to 10.4 percent. For instance, Denver's sales tax rate is 3.65 percent (effective Jan. 1, 2015), which totals 6.55 percent when state taxes are included.
And while state law limits gambling taxes to 40 percent, the effective rate for commercial, brick-and-mortar casinos is 20 percent. Of that, 50 percent goes to Colorado's general fund.
The following chart lists the tax rates applicable to various consumer transactions. See FindLaw's Tax Law section for more general information about state and federal taxes.
|Sales Tax||2.9% §39-26-106 (when local taxes are added, the total sales tax rate may be as high as 10.4%)|
|Cigarette Tax||84¢ per pack of 20 cigarettes §39-28-103|
|Marijuana Tax||10% flat rate on all sales|
|Gasoline Tax per Gallon||40.4¢ (includes 18.4¢ federal tax) §39-27-102|
|Use Tax||2.9% §39-26-202|
|Liquor Tax||Beer 8¢/gal.; Wine 28¢ per galllon; Spirits $2.28 per gallon §§12-47-503|
|Gambling Tax||Not to exceed 40% of adjusted gross profits §12-47.1-601|
Note: State laws are constantly changing, including those affecting consumer tax rates and regulation. Be sure to contact a Colorado tax attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
What is Use Tax?
States usually can't tax you for out-of-state purchases, but a "use" tax may be levied on some items bought across state lines. For instance, those who purchase automobiles in states with lower taxes and then drive them back to their home state may be required to pay the difference. The purpose of this is to encourage in-state purchases.
Research the Law
- Colorado Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Colorado Consumer Tax Laws: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.