Staying alert and following the rules of the road is the best way to avoid a car accident. However, keeping distractions to a minimum while driving can be a challenge. According to the Connecticut Department of Transportation, more than 20 percent of accidents in the state involve only one vehicle and distracted driving is a major contributor to many of these accidents.
No matter what the circumstances may be, after an accident you need to stay calm, check for injuries, and follow the basic rules for Connecticut car accident reporting.
How to File a Car Crash Report in Connecticut
This chart provides a summary of Connecticut laws and procedures for filing a car crash report.
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Reporting a Car Accident in Connecticut
In Connecticut, all car accidents should be reported to the police even when only minor property damage occurs. A 9-1-1 telephone call will result in the proper emergency personnel being notified. After you have called the police, your only other requirement is to exchange insurance and contact information with the other parties.
It’s important to understand that just because the state does not have any additional accident reporting requirements, individual cities and counties may have their own rules. If you fail to obey these local rules, you could receive a ticket or lose your driving privileges! So, whenever you’re in an accident in Connecticut, dial 9-1-1.
Accident Reporting after Hitting a Dog
Car accidents don’t just involve other cars and stationary objects. Wild animals and domestic pets all too often dart in front of vehicles. In Connecticut, any person who hits a dog with a vehicle and the dog is injured or killed, must immediately stop and give any assistance that is possible. The driver is also required to immediately notify the dog’s owner or the nearest police officer. Much like a traditional car crash, a driver is required must give the following information to the police or the pet’s owner: their name, address, and driver’s license number. Failure to report an accident with a dog can result in a citation.
Completing a Personal Accident Report in Connecticut
Creating your own accident report is a good idea, even when it is not required by law. Your report doesn’t need to be complicated. Connecticut law already requires you to stop and exchange information with the other drivers, so you should have everything you need. This checklist details some of the facts your report must have to be effective:
- Names, addresses and phone numbers for drivers and passenger
- Driver’s license numbers of other drivers
- License plate numbers of vehicles involved
- Photos of the scene and the vehicles (even if it shows no damage)
- Car insurance information
- Names and badge numbers of any law enforcement officers present
After an Accident: Receiving Your Accident Report
When an officer responds to your accident and investigates, the completed case report can be requested for a fee. Many simple accident reports are available online. It typically takes 10 business days after an accident for a report to become available.
Accidents that are not available online, investigative reports, and requests for certified copies must be submitted via mail. You may also request a copy of an accident or incident report by mailing a completed request form, DPS-96-C “Request for Copy of Report.” The completed form and payment can be mailed to:
Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection
Division of State Police
Reports and Records
1111 Country Club Road
Middletown, CT 06457
Get Legal Help With Your Car Accident Claim Today
Even a minor car accident can cause significant hassles. You may have to schedule car repairs, attend medical appointments, and negotiate with the insurance company. Fortunately, you don’t have to go through the process alone. An experienced car accident lawyer can help you go through the settlement process and preserve your rights under Connecticut car accident compensation laws.