Connecticut Credit and Debit Card Fraud
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
The term fraud refers to crimes that involve dishonesty or intentional deception. One common type of fraud is credit and debit card fraud. These fraudulent acts can be committed by either the cardholder (the person whom the credit card is issued to), by a provider (a business authorized by the card issuer to accept the card in exchange for money, goods, or services), or by any other person who illegally uses a credit card with the intent to defraud.
Connecticut defines a credit card as any instrument or device issued to a cardholder that can be used to obtain money, goods, services, or anything else of value on credit. The following chart highlights Connecticut's main credit card fraud laws.
Connecticut Penal Code section 53a-128c: Credit Card Fraud
Credit Card Theft:
Selling or Buying a Credit Card:
Using a Credit Card as Security for Debt:
Credit Card Forgery
Signing Someone Else's Credit Card
Fraudulently Applying for a Credit Card
It is illegal to knowingly make any false statements regarding anyone's identity or financial condition with the intent that your statements will be relied on in order to procure a new credit card. In other words, it is a crime to intentionally lie on a credit card application in Connecticut.
A provider can commit credit card fraud by accepting a credit card that he knows is stolen, forged, expired, or revoked. It is also illegal for a provider to represent to an issuer that money, goods, services, or anything else of value has been provided to a cardholder when it fact it wasn't provided.
If the provider engages in either of these fraudulent acts and improperly obtains less than $500 over a six-month period, then the provider has committed a Class A misdemeanor. If more than $500 is stolen over a six-month period then the provider has committed a class D felony.
Misdemeanor and Felony Penalties in Connecticut
- A Class A misdemeanor in Connecticut is punishable by a fine of up to $2,000 and imprisonment for up to one year.
- A Class D felony in Connecticut is punishable by a fine of up to $5,000 and imprisonment for between one and five years.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.