Before being legally married in Connecticut a couple must receive a marriage license from the registrar in the town where their marriage is going to be celebrated. In Connecticut, it is illegal for an officiant to perform a marriage ceremony for a couple who doesn't have a valid marriage license. Officiants who break this law can be fined up to $100.
Who is Eligible to Marry?
A person is eligible to marry in Connecticut so long as:
- They aren't already married
- Are at least 18 years old
- Aren't under the supervision or control of a conservator, and
- Aren't marrying their parent, grandparent, child, grandchild, sibling, parent's sibling, sibling's child, stepparent or stepchild
Marriage of Minors
There are some situations where Connecticut does allow minors to get married. If either applicant is less than 16 years old, then the couple can only obtain a marriage license if the probate judge in their district endorses his written consent on the license. Additionally, all applicants under 18 years old can only obtain a marriage license if they have the written consent of their parent or guardian. If the applicant's parents or guardians aren't residents of the United States, then a probate judge in the minor's district can endorse the license instead.
Marriage of People Under Conservatorship
People under the supervision or control of a conservator can only obtain a marriage license if they have the written consent of the conservator.
The following table outlines what's required for a marriage license in Connecticut.
Connecticut General Statutes section 46b-25: Marriage License Application
|The town registrar can only issue a marriage license if:
- Both parties apply for the application in person
- The parties are eligible to marry in Connecticut
- The license is complete, dated, signed, and sworn by each applicant and states each applicant's name, age, race, birthplace, residence, whether single, widowed, or divorced and whether they are under the supervision or control of a conservator or guardian, and
- Both parties' social security numbers must be recorded
Waiting Period after Applying to Get Married
Connecticut doesn't impose a waiting period on marriage licenses. This means that marriage licenses are issued immediately after a valid application is submitted, and couples are permitted to marry as soon as their marriage license is issued.
How Long Until Your Marriage License Expires?
Marriage licenses in most states are only valid for a certain period of time. Marriage licenses in Connecticut are valid for 65 days, which is much longer than in most states. This means that a couple's marriage ceremony must be performed within 65 days of filing their marriage license application or else the license will be expired. If your marriage license expires don't worry, you can simply reapply for a new one.
Blood tests are an almost obsolete requirement and aren't required in Connecticut.
State laws change frequently. For case specific information regarding Connecticut's marriage license laws contact a local family law attorney.