Skip to main content
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Florida Auto Theft Laws

Images associated with auto theft are often filled with expensive luxury cars. However, there are many instances where more conventional and less expensive models are targeted. Whether you nab a sporty convertible parked in South Beach or a beat-up jalopy in Orlando, if you steal a car in Florida, you will face identical charges. Without regard to the actual value of the cars, you will essentially have the same punishment.

Florida's auto theft laws are found within the state's theft statute. Specifically, the offense is classified as grand theft of a motor vehicle. To be guilty of this offense, you must take an individual's property with the intent to:

  • Deprive that individual of a right to their property or the benefit of their property; or
  • Take the property for personal use or for the use of another person not entitled to use the property.

Third Degree Felony

Whenever you take a car under the circumstances described in the statute, you've committed a felony in the third degree. If you are convicted of a third degree felony, you can get a maximum sentence of five years in prison, probation, or a fine of up to $5000.

You can face a more serious charge if the auto theft is elevated through the use of force. For example, if you take someone's motor vehicle with the use of violence or force, or by invoking fear in that individual, then this would be considered carjacking under the Florida statute. Typically when force is used, a weapon of some kind is present. This is another crucial element that can increase the charges and the severity of the penalties.

Florida Auto Theft Laws at a Glance

The chart below provides a summary of laws related to Florida's auto theft laws, including links to important code sections.


Penalties and Sentencing

Grand larceny in the third degree

  • A felony in the third degree is punishable by up to five years in prison.
  • Because there is no minimum mandatory sentence, probation is a possibility.
  • Fines (up to $5000)


  • Consent
  • Mistake of fact
  • Lack of intent -- the defendant has a right to the property

Related Offense

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Florida Auto Theft Laws: Related Resources

Talk to an Attorney about Your Auto Theft Case

If you've been accused of violating Florida's auto theft laws, then you should consider talking to an experienced attorney who can help you understand the evidence against you as well as your options going forward. There are Florida criminal defense attorneys in your area who understand the complexity of the state's theft laws and are ready to help. Reach out to one today to learn more.

Was this helpful?

Thank you. Your response has been sent.

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • Complex criminal defense situations usually require a lawyer
  • Defense attorneys can help protect your rights
  • A lawyer can seek to reduce or eliminate criminal penalties

Get tailored advice and ask your legal questions. Many Florida attorneys offer free consultations.


 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options