Skip to main content

Are you a legal professional? Visit our professional site

Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Georgia Child Support Payments

The legal obligation of child support is what a parent owes to their minor child. The state of Georgia takes child support payments seriously and establishes a process for ensuring that each child receives their proper support. After the noncustodial parent has been located, the state has 90 days to establish a court order. When the order has been finalized, the noncustodial parent pays the court-determined amount which is set by state law guidelines.

State law requires that the Georgia Family Support Registry collect and process all child support payments in Georgia (including any case enforced by the Georgia Division of Child Support Services, or DCSS) and any other support cases that aren't supported by the DCSS that are subject to an income deduction order. Although noncustodial parents can make payments via DCSS's website, those payments can't replace federally mandated wage withholding.

Georgia Child Support Payments at a Glance

Although it's best to consult with an attorney for complex cases, a guide written in plain language rather than legal jargon can be useful in understanding how the law works regarding child support payments in Georgia. See the chart below for helpful information on how to pay and collect child support.


Initial Payment

After a parent has applied for child support, the initial payment is sent to the Georgia Division of Child Support Services (DCSS). If the noncustodial parent has a job, it may take up to 4-6 weeks for DCSS to post payments received from the noncustodial parent's place of employment.

Although the payment can't be added to an existing prepaid card, the parent will receive a Georgia EPPI card in the mail once the first payment is made. Later payments will be applied to the EPPI card unless the parent selected the option of direct deposit (for checking and savings accounts).

Holding Payments in Escrow

As mandated by federal and state laws, payments are sometimes held in escrow for a minimum of 45 days to allow the noncustodial parent time to request a hearing if they disagree with the child support payment.

When a parent experiences a change in their life that can substantially impact the ability to pay child support, the child support order may be modified depending on the circumstances.

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Georgia Child Support Payments: Related Resources

Need Help Making/Receiving Child Support Payments? Talk to an Attorney

Navigating the process for making or receiving child support payments can be confusing. If you need help paying or collecting child support payments in Georgia, then you should discuss your situation with a skilled Georgia child support attorney.

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select
Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options