Police Misconduct Laws and Claims in Georgia
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed May 14, 2019
Like all police officers, the law enforcement agents in Georgia take an oath to protect the public and to ensure that citizens abide by the law. However, police officers can abuse their power and commit acts outside of their authority. Sometimes, this is reflected by instances of police brutality and other forms of police misconduct. When an officer's misdeeds infringe on someone's civil rights and causes them substantial harm, they (and those close to them) may be entitled to receive financial compensation through a police misconduct claim.
In civil lawsuits that involve police misconduct, the victim may sue the municipality that employs the officer and the officer individually. Police officers are entitled to "qualified immunity," which means that a civil lawsuit against them can be thrown out of court unless the victim can prove that their constitutional rights have been violated. The rationale for this is to allow officers to perform their duties without the continuous threat of litigation based on every encounter that they make with the community. Although qualified immunity can make it more challenging to litigate, individuals can still recover damages if they can overcome this burden.
Anti Litem Notices
Anti litem notices are required by state law and must be sent to municipalities before the governmental entity can be sued. They vary, depending on whether you're suing a city, county, or the state of Georgia. The law states that anyone with a claim for money damages (based on personal injury or property damage) against a city must give notice to the city within 6 months of the event that caused the injury, before they can file a lawsuit.
According to a Georgia Supreme Court decision, however, the notice law applies to claims where the cause of action is negligence, which isn't generally applicable to most police misconduct cases. Because notice requirements vary and they can affect filing the lawsuit, it's important to check with a local attorney to see how the law applies.
Police Misconduct Laws and Claims in Georgia at a Glance
While it might be practical to refer to the written law when conducting legal research, it's easy to get lost in the legal jargon. Read the chart below for a plain language discussion of police misconduct laws and claims in Georgia.
Georgia Code Title 36. Local Government:
Examples of Police Misconduct
Police misconduct can happen at any point whenever there is an encounter between an officer and a citizen. However, there are common situations where it may occur:
There are several types of police misconduct, including the following:
Statute of Limitations
The statute of limitations in Georgia for personal injury claims is 2 years. It begins running when the incident that caused the injury occurs.
Georgia Code Section 16-10-24 (obstruction of a law enforcement officer)
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Police Misconduct Laws and Claims in Georgia: Related Resources
Talk to an Attorney About Police Misconduct Laws and Claims in Georgia
No one should be abused by the police. If you've been a victim of police misconduct, then you should assert your rights and talk to a lawyer. Contact a local Georgia civil rights attorney who can advocate on your behalf and investigate the possibility of filing a civil lawsuit.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.