Illinois Property and Real Estate Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
Property and real estate laws typical concern things like landlord-tenant relations, homestead protection from creditors, and related matters. Laws regulating the rental market protect both landlords and tenants. In Illinois, for example, landlords must return a tenant's security deposit within 30 days of the termination of the lease but the state doesn't limit the amount landlords may charge for a deposit. Illinois' homestead protection law allows an individual to claim a portion of his or her property as off limits to creditors if that portion of the property is valued at less than $7,500. Click on a link below to learn more about Illinois property and real estate laws.
Learn About Illinois Property and Real Estate Laws
Illinois Property and Real Estate Law Articles
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.