Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Louisiana Civil Statute of Limitations Laws

There are time limits for filing a lawsuit or some other civil action called statutes of limitations, which differ from state to state. States also impose time limits for the state in regard to the filing of formal criminal charges, also referred to as the statute of limitations. States typically have different time limits for different kinds of civil actions, although the "clock" doesn't start ticking until the injury is discovered.

For instance, someone may not realize they have been the victim of fraud until several years after the incident, but they may file a claim after discovering the injury. The reasons for these limits are to prevent individuals from using the threat of a lawsuit indefinitely and to ensure the integrity of the evidence (including witness testimony, physical evidence, and other forms of discovery).

This article provides a brief overview of the civil statute of limitations laws in Louisiana.

Louisiana Civil Statutes of Limitation: At a Glance

The state of Louisiana is unique in that nearly all civil actions have a one-year statute of limitations (most states range from two to five years for more claims). The exceptions are the three-year limits on collections of rent and debts and a 10-year statute of limitations for contracts and judgments.

The main provisions of Louisiana's civil statute of limitations are detailed below. See FindLaw's Injury Law Basics section for more information about filing a lawsuit.

Injury to Person

One year (L.A. Civ. Code § 3492)


One year (L.A. Civ. Code § 3492)


One year (L.A. Civ. Code § 3492)

Injury to Personal Property

One year (L.A. Civ. Code § 3492)

Professional Malpractice

One year for medical (L.A. Civ. Code § 3492); one year for legal (La. Stat. Ann § 9:5605)


One year (L.A. Civ. Code § 3492)

Collection of Rents

Three years (L.A. Civ. Code § 3494(2))


Written: 10 years (L.A. Civ. Code § 3499); Oral: 10 years (L.A. Civ. Code § 3499)

Collection of Debt on Account

Three years (L.A. Civ. Code § 3494(4))


Monetary judgments: 10 years (L.A. Civ. Code § 3501)

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Research the Law

Louisiana Civil Statute of Limitations Law: Related Resources

Don't Miss Your Filing Deadlines: Contact a Louisiana Attorney

Trying to understand Louisiana's different civil lawsuit filing deadlines can be overwhelming. Louisiana's civil statute of limitations varies depending on the circumstances of the case and the type of claim involved. If you are dealing with a personal injury or business-related injury, it's in your best interests to contact a local litigation attorney as soon as possible.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select
Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options