Maine Lemon Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
When a new car has either one serious problem or several reoccurring problems that can't be fixed, it is commonly called a "lemon." As a result, state lemon laws offer certain protections for consumers who may otherwise be stuck with a problematic automobile.
Lemon Laws in Maine
Laws against defective vehicles can be found in Maine Lemon Laws, which covers new automobile purchases for either three (3) years, the term of the manufacturer's express warranty or within 18,0000 miles. Used cars are handled in a separate section known as the Used Car Information Act (UCIA).
What Automobiles Are Covered Under the Lemon Laws?
Maine's lemon laws can apply to new cars, motorcycles, and motor homes. However, consumers can only seek relief under these laws before before either of the following limits have been reached:
- 3 years from the date you originally bought the vehicle, or the end of the manufacturer's express warranty term.
- Within 18,000 miles on the odometer.
What Must I Do To Qualify Under The Lemon Law?
In addition to the timing and mileage requirements, you may invoke the Lemon Law if:
- Your vehicle has had 3 attempts to repair the same serious problem and is not fixed.
- Your vehicle has had 1 attempt to repair a serious braking or steering problem (a safety issue) that wasn't fixed.
- Your vehicle has been out of service for 15 business days for repairs of one or more problems, and the problem is still not resolved.
Does The Lemon Law Apply To Used Cars?
Typically, no. Maine's Lemon Law applies only to new vehicles. There are some, limited circumstances where the law might apply. The problems would have to occur within two (2) years of original delivery of the car or within the first 18,000 miles, whichever comes first, for the car to qualify. Contact the Attorney General's Lemon Law Arbitration Office and find out if you are eligible for a free Lemon Law Arbitration hearing.
The details of Maine lemon laws are listed below. See find law's Lemon Law section to learn more.
|Code Section||Title 29-A, §670|
|Title of Act||Maine Lemon Law for new cars; Used Car Information Act (UCIA) for used cars|
|Definition of Defects||Nonconformity to all express warranties which significantly impairs use, safety, or value of vehicle|
|Time Limit for Manufacturer Repair||Term of express warranties within a period of 3 years following date of original delivery to consumer, or during first 18,000 miles, whichever is earlier date|
|Remedies||Requires the manufacturer to make the necessary repairs. If the manufacturer cannot fix the car, then the consumer has the right to argue the case before a State Arbitrator, free of charge. This hearing must come within 45 days of acceptance of the Lemon Law application and if the Arbitrator concludes that the car is indeed a Lemon, the consumer can receive either a new vehicle or the return of the purchase price.|
Note: State and federal consumer statutes provide important remedies to Maine consumers, ranging from monetary damages to buy-backs of defective vehicles. Maine consumer laws are constantly changing -- contact a Maine lemon law attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Maine Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Michigan Lemon Laws: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.