Maryland Property and Real Estate Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
Maryland, one of the most densely packed areas of the country, has specific laws when it comes to landlords and tenants, real estate and property. For instance, a landlord in Maryland has to return a renter's security deposit in 45 days after the tenant moves out. Most other states require this to be done in 14 or 30 days. Also, a landlord can charge two months rent as the security deposit for a rental unit. For more Maryland real estate laws, the links below provide dive deeper into real estate, adverse possession and property statutes.
Learn About Maryland Property and Real Estate Laws
Maryland Property and Real Estate Law Articles
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.