Skip to main content

Are you a legal professional? Visit our professional site

Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Massachusetts Abortion Laws

In June 2022, the U.S. Supreme Court overruled Roe v. Wade in Dobbs v. Jackson Women's Health Organization, which returned to the states the power to regulate, even prohibit, abortion. Massachusetts law generally allows abortion through the 24th week of pregnancy.

In fact, Massachusetts abortion laws are, generally speaking, less restrictive than those in many other states. Other jurisdictions often require consent requirements and other statutory obstacles. But virtually all states, including Massachusetts, have some abortion restrictions.

The table below lists the basic provisions of Massachusetts abortion laws. See Abortion Laws and Abortion Rights FAQs to learn more.

Code Section Ch. 112§§12K to 12R
Statutory Definition of Illegal Abortion Failure to meet standards for legal abortion; violation of procedural standards such as informed consent, medical procedure required, etc. Knowing destruction of the life of an unborn child or the intentional expulsion or removal of an unborn child from the womb other than for the principal purpose of live birth or removing a dead fetus
Statutory Definition of Legal Abortion Under 24 weeks, abortion may be performed only by physician, physician's assistant, nurse practitioner, or nurse midwife with written informed consent; after 24 weeks, physician with written informed consent only if necessary for the physical or mental health of the mother, if fetal abnormality, or if fetus is incompatible with life outside the uterus
Consent Requirements Written informed consent within 24 hours before procedure except in emergencies; if mother less than 16 years and unmarried, consent of one parent or guardian or court (if convinced of mother's maturity or that procedure is in mother's best interest), except in medical emergency
Residency Requirements for Patients -
Physician Licensing Requirements Physician, physician's assistant, nurse practitioner within scope of practice; after 24th week, must be performed by a physician in a licensed hospital

Note: State laws are constantly changing — contact a Massachusetts family law attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Research the Law:

Related Resources for Abortion Laws:

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select
Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options