Michigan Compulsory Education Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
State laws require children between certain ages to attend some form of education, whether it's a public school, private school, homeschool, or something else. Michigan compulsory education laws require children between the ages of six and 16 to attend school and allows for homeschooling, as long as it teaches subjects comparable to those taught in corresponding public school classes.
The details of Michigan's compulsory education laws are listed in the following table. See FindLaw's Compulsory Education section for additional articles and resources.
|Code Section||380.1561, et seq.|
|Age at Which School Attendance is Required||Between 6 and 16|
|Exceptions to Attendance Requirements||Enrolled in approved non-public school which teaches subjects comparable to those in public schools to children of same age; under 9 years old and doesn't reside within 2.5 miles of nearest traveled road of public school and transportation not provided; age 12 to 13 while in attendance of confirmation classes not to exceed 5 months|
|Home School Provisions||An organized education program which teaches subjects comparable to those taught in public schools to children of corresponding age and grade|
|Penalties on Parents for Noncompliance||Warrant issued, hearing and determination made; misdemeanor: fine of $5 to $50 and/or 2 to 90 days jail|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Michigan education attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Michigan Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Michigan Compulsory Education Laws: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.