Michigan Wills Laws
A will is a legally binding document that outlines the preferences of the testator (the person writing the will) with respect to the division of property and other holdings after death. In Michigan, will laws require the testator to be at least 18 years old, signed by two competent witnesses, and may not be oral. Unlike most other states, Michigan wills may be handwritten (also referred to as "holographic").
The following chart highlights the main provisions of Michigan will laws. See FindLaw's Wills section for additional articles and resources.
|Code Section||MCL §§700.2501, et seq.|
|Age of Testator||18 years or older and sound mind|
|Number of Witnesses||Signed by at least two competent persons, each of whom witnessed either the signing or testator's acknowledgment of signature or of will.|
|Nuncupative (Oral Wills)||Not recognized|
|Holographic Wills||Valid if dated and testator's signature appears at end of will and material provisions are in testator's handwriting; does not need witnesses.|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Michigan wills attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Michigan Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Michigan Wills Laws: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.