Minnesota Workers' Compensation Laws
While Minnesotans are known for being able to drive through the most treacherous road conditions without batting an eyelash, they're not immune to workplace injuries and illnesses once they actually get to work. Therefore, the state requires employers to purchase workers' compensation insurance, which covers work-related injuries and illnesses regardless of fault. If you've been injured or fallen ill while at work in the North Star State, you'll need to understand the process for pursuing workers' compensation in Minnesota.
The table below outlines key aspects of the workers' compensation laws in Minnesota, including important timelines and some types of benefits.
|Some Types of Benefits||
Who Is Covered by Workers' Compensation?
Minnesota has strict workers' compensation laws in that all employers must provide this insurance even if they have only one part-time employee. And most people who perform paid services for another are considered employees -- even minors and non-citizens -- though some types of workers are not automatically covered, such as independent contractors. Lastly, injuries that are caused, aggravated, or accelerated by employment activities are covered by workers' compensation insurance.
Sick or Injured? See a Doctor and Tell Your Employer
If you're sick or hurt, you should get medical attention and tell your supervisor within 14 days of the injury or illness. You risk losing your benefits altogether if you don't give notice to your employer within 180 days and give good reason for the delay. After you've missed three days of work, your employer then has 10 days to submit a first report of injury or illness to their insurance company who must either deny your claim or begin making payments.
What if There's a Problem with My Claim?
In exchange for workers' compensation, you generally give up your right to sue your employer. However, if your claim is denied or there is a dispute regarding benefits, you do have options, including the following:
- Call the insurance claims adjuster and attempt to resolve the issue with them;
- Discuss the problem with an Alternative Dispute Resolution specialist at the Department of Labor and Industry; or
- Request a hearing by filing an Employee's Claim Petition form (many employees choose to have an attorney help with preparing documents, meeting deadlines, and arguing their case during these proceedings)
Injured and Overwhelmed? Get Legal Help with Your Workers' Comp Claim in Minnesota
In addition to the physical toll of workplace injuries and illnesses, they can cause huge financial headaches as well. Workers' compensation benefits can alleviate some of that stress, but you'll need to adhere to deadlines and other requirements in order to receive them. Contact a local personal injury attorney familiar with Minnesota's workers' compensation laws advise you on the strength of your claim and guide you through the process of filing a claim.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.