Missouri Car Accident Report Basics
A minor fender bender may not seem like a big deal. After all, it's just a few scratches. It may not seem like you even need repairs. It's normal for people to not want to involve the police or insurance companies in a minor accident. However, not reporting an accident in Missouri can make a bad situation worse if you find out injuries or property damage is worse than originally believed. Don't risk your driving privileges; learn more about Missouri car accident report basics.
How to File a Car Crash Report in Missouri
This chart provides a summary of Missouri laws and procedures for filing a car crash report.
|State Accident Statutes|
|When to Report a Crash||
Missouri law says you must call the police when an accident results in:
Motor Vehicle Accident Report Request Missouri Driver's License Bureau
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
When to Notify the Police of an Indiana Car Accident
Missouri law requires drivers to immediately report to police any vehicle accident that causes more than $500 in property damage, kills or injurs someone, or damages an unattended vehicle or other property. It's the duty of the traffic division, assisted by other police officers of the department, to investigate traffic accidents, make arrests, and assist in the prosecution of those charged with violations. The driver is typically not required to draft an actual report, but must immediately alert the police that an accident has occurred.
Reporting Accident with Uninsured Motorist
Vehicle owners in Indiana are required to keep adequate auto insurance. If you're involved in an accident and not properly insured, you risk losing your license via the state's vehicle financial liability law. Every owner or operator of every motor vehicle involved in the accident must report the matter in writing to the director of revenue of the state of Missouri within 30 days when the following is true:
- A driver involved in an accident was uninsured, and
- The accident caused property damage of more than $500 to any one person, or someone was injured or killed.
The report form provided by the state asks for proof of insurance and information about the cause of the crash. If the report is filed late because of injuries sustained in the accident, a doctor's certificate must accompany the report certifying the injury.
Failing to Report a Missouri Car Crash
If you don't stop, exchange information with the other driver, and immediately report the accident to police, you could be charged with a hit and run. Failure to report an accident when there are no injuries can result in a suspended license, fine, and misdemeanor conviction. If you flee the scene and someone is seriously injured or dies, you could receive a felony conviction punishable by 15 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
Drafting a Personal Accident Report
Even when you're not required to file a report yourself, a personal accident report is important protection after an accident. Months after an accident, the Missouri Department of Revenue may request you file a supplemental report. It's also likely your insurance company will want to know what happened before paying a claim. Record the following information for your accident report:
- Name and insurance information of everyone involved
- Names of witnesses and their detailed accounts of the crash
- Details about damages and injuries
- Diagram of the accident scene
- Photos of damage and video statements
- Description of the crash, including how many people were in each car
Get a Review of Your Auto Accident Claim
After a car accident, it's normal to be angry and frustrated. It can take weeks to get your life back to normal. Fortunately, you don't need to go through the process alone. An experienced Missouri attorney can negotiate your insurance settlement, or bring your claim to court if you're not properly compensated for your damages. Get started today by receiving a review of your auto accident claim.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.