Missouri Personal Income Tax Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed February 22, 2018
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
General Overview of Missouri Personal Income Tax Laws
Most states -- including Missouri -- levy a tax on personal incomes, which may also apply to businesses operating within the state. Those states that don't collect income tax often make up for the revenue in other ways, such as higher property taxes. Generally, state income taxes must be filed by mid-April, the same deadline for federal income tax filings. If you are required to file a federal income tax form, you also will have to file a Missouri income tax form, unless:
- You are a Missouri resident with less than $1,200 in adjusted gross income;
- You are a non-resident with less than $600 income; or
- Your adjusted gross income is less than the standard deduction plus your exemption amount.
The basics of Missouri's personal income tax laws are listed in the following table:
|Code Section||143.011, et seq.|
|Who is Required to File||Resident individuals, nonresidents with income derived from Missouri sources, and estates and trusts; Partnerships are not taxable; local taxes may be required|
|Rate||First $1,000, 1.5%; Next $1,000, 2%; Next $1,000, 2.5%; Next $1,000, 3%; Next $1,000, 3.5%; Next $1,000, 4%; Next $1,000, 4.5%; Next $1,000, 5%; Next $1,000, 5.5%; Over $9,000, 6%|
|Federal Income Tax Deductible||Yes|
|Federal Income Used as Basis||Yes|
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Missouri Income Taxes: What are My Filing Options?
There are three main ways to file your personal income taxes in Missouri, which may depend on your tax obligations and the complexity of your financial situation:
- Electronic Filing - Qualified Missouri taxpayers can e-file free of charge, which is the quickest filing method and allows for direct deposits.
- 2-D Barcode Filing - The fillable forms (linked) calculate your taxes and provide you with a printed barcode, which can be used by the tax department.
- Paper Filing (links to Mo. tax form selector) - The traditional format for calculating and filing taxes.
If you are a nonresident or part-time resident, see the Missouri Dept. of Revenue's Nonresidents and Residents with Other State Income page, which offers detailed instructions and forms.
Research the Law
- Missouri Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Missouri Personal Income Tax Laws: Related Resources
- Missouri Consumer Tax Laws
- State Directory: Taxpayer Assistance
- State Tax Forms
- Missouri Dept. of Revenue: Individual Income Tax
Get Legal Help with Your Missouri Personal Income Tax Laws Questions
Taxes don't need to be a source of dread. With the right information you can handle just about any tax issue with confidence. Contact a local tax attorney to learn how a legal professional can help you avoid tax problems and clean up tax messes.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.