Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Missouri Tenant Rights Laws

It's not uncommon for disputes to arise between landlords and tenants during the course of a residential lease. Each state has its own laws that dictate the rights and responsibilities of landlords and tenants. When considering your options as a Missouri tenant, it's important to first understand your state's laws.

Missouri Tenants Rights Laws

Missouri has implemented various laws that set forth the rights of landlords and tenants. For example, Missouri chooses to limit how much a landlord can collect as a security deposit and also sets forth a timeline for returning the tenant's security deposit at the end of the lease. There are also state laws detailing how landlords and tenants can terminate a tenancy.

However, there are some areas of the landlord/tenant relationship that Missouri law does not choose to govern. Missouri does not have laws limiting how much landlords can charge for rent, for instance, and there are no communities in Missouri with rent control laws. Missouri also does not have any law prohibiting landlords from retaliating against tenants for exercising legal rights.

The below chart provides details of Missouri's tenants' rights laws at a glance.


Missouri Revised Statutes Chapters 441, 534, and 535

Security Deposits

  • Cannot charge more than 2 months' rent as security deposit
  • Security deposit must be returned within 30 days of tenant move-out

Paying Rent

  • There are no limits on how much rent a landlord can charge
  • There are no communities in Missouri with rent control

Living Conditions

  • Under certain circumstances, after giving 14 days' notice, a tenant can withhold up to one-half months' rent or $300 (whichever is greater) to pay for repair of dangerous or unsanitary conditions landlord fails to fix


  • Landlords prohibited from refusing to sell, rent, or sublease on the basis of a renter's race, religion, gender, disability, familial status, or national origin
  • Landlords cannot raise the amount of rent in a discriminatory way

Ending or Renewing a Tenancy

  • Either party may terminate a year-to-year lease by giving 60 days' notice
  • Either party may terminate a month-to-month lease by giving one months' notice
  • In the event of non-payment of rent, landlord must give 5 days' notice to either come current or move out, if a tenant does neither landlord can evict tenant
  • Tenant's use of property for illegal purpose voids lease


  • Missouri does not have any state laws prohibiting landlords from retaliating against tenants for act within legal rights

Note: State regulations are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Related Missouri Tenant's Rights Resources

Get a Free Evaluation of Your Landlord/Tenant Case

If you are a tenant in a dispute with your landlord, you may have legal remedies available to you. All lawsuits have an applicable statute of limitations, so it's important to act promptly to preserve your legal rights. A great first step is speaking with an experienced landlord/tenant attorney for your free case evaluation.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select
Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options