Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Nevada Marriage License and Blood Test Requirements

Marriage is a serious step for any person willing to publicly express their love for a significant other. While most people preparing for marriage usually have the wedding ceremony at the front of their minds, properly obtaining the marriage license should be the most important item on every bride and groom's list.

Before the wedding, Nevada marriage license and blood requirements need to be followed in order for the union to be official on the couple's magical day. This is a quick summary of the marriage license and blood test requirements in Nevada.

Checking Off The Nevada Marriage License Requirements

Although blood test are no longer required, Nevada marriage license requirements prohibit the bride and groom from being closely related is one another. Also, the bride and groom must be at least 18 years old at the time of obtaining the license, however, persons under the age of 16 may acquire a Nevada marriage license with proper consent from a parent or guardian. Once a marriage license has been properly issued by the county clerk's office, officially solemnized, and correctly recorded with the county, the couple's marriage becomes public record for the world to see.

The following table outlines the specifics of Nevada marriage license and blood test requirements.

Code Sections

Nevada Revised Statutes §122.040: Marriage License

Marriage License Requirements

Nevada marriage license requirements state that:

  • Both parties must appear in person before the county clerk to obtain a license.

  • Applicants must be at least 18 years of age, and no nearer of kin than second cousins or cousins of half-blood, and not having a husband or wife living.

  • Identification must be provided to prove name and age is required.

  • No blood test is required.

  • Whoever performs a marriage ceremony has, by law, 10 days to submit documentation to the County Clerk's Office for the marriage to be recorded.

  • All U.S. citizens are required to provide their Social Security number on the Affidavit of Application for a Marriage License.

Generally, a marriage license is issued the same day a couple applies. Also, there is no waiting period after the marriage license has been issued. Marriage licenses are valid for one year from the date the license is issued.

Fraudulent Procurement

Any person who makes a false statement in procuring a marriage license will be guilty of a gross misdemeanor. This is punishable by up to one year in prison, a fine up to $2,000, or both.


County clerks must collect specific fees when issuing a marriage license. These fees must be paid to the clerk at the time of issuance.

If you need legal assistance with properly obtaining a marriage license, you can contact a Nevada family law lawyer through FindLaw. Visit FindLaw's sections on marriage requirement basics and marriage law for more articles and information on this topic.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • Family law matters are often complex and require a lawyer
  • Lawyers can protect your rights and seek the best outcome

Get tailored family law advice and ask a lawyer questions. Many attorneys offer free consultations.


 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options