Nevada Wage and Hour Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
Although placing wagers is the Silver State's main attraction, citizens of Nevada are not particularly interested in gambling with their minimum wage rates. Nevada's minimum wage is set well above the federal minimum wage and rivals some of the highest rates in the west.
In order to protect worker's rights, Nevada wage and hour laws set when the minimum wage must be increased and the amount of hours per week an employee is allowed to work. This is a quick summary of the wage and hour laws in Nevada.
Set Limits Under Nevada Wage and Hour Laws
Nevada wage and hour laws establishes two different minimum wages: one for employers that provide insurance and one for employers that don't. However, there are certain jobs where an employee can legally be paid a rate lower than minimum wage. For instance, the neighbor babysitter or a taxi cab driver can be paid less than minimum wage without any penalties to the employer.
The following table outlines the specifics of Nevada wage and hour laws.
Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 608: Compensation, Wages And Hours
Under Nevada minimum wage laws, the minimum hourly wage is $7.25 per hour with insurance, and $8.25 per hour without insurance.
According to Nevada wage and hour laws, an employer must pay 1 1/2 times an employee's regular wage rate whenever an employee works:
Exception to Minimum Wage
Nevada minimum wage laws do not apply to:
Any person who violates Nevada wage and hour laws is guilty of a misdemeanor. A person convicted of a misdemeanor will be punished by imprisonment in the county jail for up to 6 months, by a fine of up to $1,000, or by both
In addition to any other remedy or penalty, the Labor Commissioner may impose an administrative penalty of not more than $5,000 for each such violation.
If your wage and hour rights have been violated and you would like legal assistance with this employment issue, you can contact a Nevada wage and hour lawyer through FindLaw. Visit FindLaw's sections on wage and hour laws for more articles and information on this topic.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.