New Hampshire Leases and Rental Agreements Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
Leases and rental agreements are legally binding contracts that define the relationship between landlords and tenants, which are governed by state laws. These laws protect the interests of both landlords and tenants by outlining the rights and responsibilities of each party, ideally in a way that evens the playing field. Leases address such terms as security deposits, whether pets are allowed, the date on which rent is due, and so forth.
State rental laws typically place limits on the amount of deposit a landlord may require, how soon that deposit must be returned after a lease is terminated, and other rules. Additionally, both state and federal laws prohibit discrimination against tenants and prospective tenants.
New Hampshire Lease and Rental Agreement Laws at a Glance
In the absence of a written contract, property rentals in New Hampshire are considered at-will, with rent payable on demand. Deposits may not be more than one month's rent, and must be returned within 30 days of the lease termination.
The following table lists additional details about New Hampshire lease and rental agreement laws. See FindLaw's Rental and Lease Agreements section for more articles.
|Code Section||540:1; 540-A:6, 7; 354-A:1, 15|
|Terms of Leases||Every tenancy shall be deemed to be at-will and rent payable on demand absent contrary contract shown|
|Lawful Reasons for Lease Termination by Landlord||
|Deposits||Limit 1 month rent or $100, whichever is greater. Interest on deposit required and must be returned to tenant if he holds the deposit for one year or longer; deposit must be returned within 30 days|
|Discrimination||No discrimination on basis of age, sex, race, creed, color, marital status, physical/mental disability, national origin, familial status; retirement communities exempted|
|Uniform Residential Landlord & Tenant Act Adopted?||No|
Note: State laws are always subject to change at any time through the enactment of newly signed legislation, decisions from higher courts, and other means. You should contact a New Hampshire landlord-tenant law attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- New Hampshire Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
New Hampshire Lease and Rental Agreement Laws: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.