Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

New Hampshire Marijuana Laws

State marijuana laws began liberalizing in the 1990's after California legalized the medical use of marijuana and decriminalized possession of small amounts, counter to federal drug law. Some states have even legalized the recreational use of cannabis by adults, regulating the herb in a manner similar to alcohol. Most states have at least softened their marijuana laws, sometimes treating simple possession as an infraction (similar to a parking ticket), but others maintain tough sanctions on all controlled substances. The federal government is recognizing state marijuana laws (as of 2015), but it remains a Schedule I drug under U.S. law, despite its medical properties and widespread use.

New Hampshire Marijuana Laws at a Glance

As with other drugs, New Hampshire has a relatively strict stance on marijuana. However, the state legislature passed a medical marijuana bill in 2013, which allows patients with a valid doctor's recommendation to possess up to two ounces of cannabis at a time. While the law doesn't allow for home cultivation, there are four state-licensed dispensaries.

Additional details about New Hampshire's current marijuana laws are listed in the following table. See FindLaw's Drug Charges and Patient Rights sections for more information.

Code Section 318-B:1, et seq.
Possession Any amount: Class A misdemeanor (up to 1 yr. in jail and up to $2,000 in fines)

Under 1 oz.: up to 3 yrs. and/or $25,000; 1 oz. to 5 lbs.: up to 7 yrs. and/or $100,000; Over 5 lbs.: up to 20 yrs. and/or $300,000; Subsequent offense: Under 1 oz.: up to 6 yrs. and/or $50,000; 1 oz. to 5 lbs.: up to 15 yrs. and/or $200,000; Over 5 lbs.: up to 40 yrs. and/or $500,000

Double sentence and double fine if within 1,000 feet of a school zone

Hash & Cannabis Concentrates
Less than 5g: misdemeanor (1 yr., $2,000); more than 5g: misdemeanor (1 yr., $5,000)
Medical Marijuana Yes, for eligible patients with a doctor's recommendation.
Is Drug Court Available? Yes (see New Hampshire Judicial Branch: Drug and Mental Health Courts)

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching

Research the Law

New Hampshire Marijuana Law: Related Resources

Don't Face New Hampshire Marijuana Charges Alone: A Lawyer Can Help

Even with greater liberalization of marijuana laws across the country, you could still find yourself facing drug charges related to marijuana. However, an experienced criminal defense attorney will understand the current state of the law and can help you build the strongest defense possible. Reach out to one near you today to learn more.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • Complex drug crimes usually require a lawyer
  • Experienced drug crime lawyers can seek to reduce or eliminate criminal penalties
  • Drug crime laws involve many specifics that can quickly change a case

Get tailored legal advice and ask a lawyer questions. Many New Hampshire attorneys offer free consultations for Drug Crime.


 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options