North Carolina Property and Real Estate Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 20, 2016
Property and real estate laws typical concern things like landlord-tenant relations, homestead protection from creditors, and related matters. Laws regulating the rental market protect both landlords and tenants. In North Carolina, for example, landlords must return a tenant's security deposit within 30 days of the termination of the lease and limits the amount landlords may charge for a deposit to two months rent. Also, North Carolina homestead laws don't specify an acreage limit, but allow up to $1,000 worth of property to be declared a homestead. Click here to learn more about the property and real-estate laws.
Learn About North Carolina Property and Real Estate Laws
North Carolina Property and Real Estate Law Articles
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.