Ohio Dog Bite Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed May 08, 2019
This article has been written and reviewed for legal accuracy, clarity, and style by FindLaw’s team of legal writers and attorneys and in accordance with our editorial standards.
The last updated date refers to the last time this article was reviewed by FindLaw or one of our contributing authors. We make every effort to keep our articles updated. For information regarding a specific legal issue affecting you, please contact an attorney in your area.
Being bitten by a dog can be a frightening experience. It can even subject you to a disease like rabies. Fortunately, dog bite victims may receive compensation for their injuries by filing a civil lawsuit. The liability of the dog's owner depends on the state law where the incident occurred.
Some states require dog owners to be on notice for a dog's predilection for danger and other states like In Ohio, a dog 's owner is strictly liable for every bite that the dog inflicts on another, including the first bite; the owner is liable without the plaintiff having to prove fault or negligence.
After a dog has bitten someone, or has otherwise attacked an individual, the dog must be registered as a "dangerous dog." Once a dog is classified as dangerous, specific restrictions apply.
Requirements for "Dangerous Dogs"
If you're in possession of a dog that's been determined to be a "dangerous dog," the following requirements must be met:
- It must always be kept on a leash shorter than 6 feet (except when hunting);
- It must be kept in a locked cage or locked yard;
- It must be registered with the county auditor; and
- It must always wear a tag that contains a dangerous dog designation.
Ohio Dog Bite Laws at a Glance
Although an attorney can best handle the interpretation of a statute, a plain language guide to the statutes can be a useful introduction to the law. The chart below provides a concise overview of Ohio dog bite laws.
Ohio Revised Statutes:
Causes of Action and Defendants
Causes of Action
The dog bite lawsuit is based either on a theory of "negligence" (where the plaintiff must show that the dog owner didn't use reasonable care in preventing the dog bite and their inability to do so resulted in the plaintiff's injury) or "strict liability" where the defendant is liable based on the mere fact that their dog bit someone.
In many cases, the defendant is likely the dog owner. However, under Ohio law, any owner, harborer (a person who controls the dog's home), or keeper of a dog is liable for any injury caused by a dog if the following conditions apply:
For negligence only: If plaintiff can show that the owner acted with gross negligence.
The statute of limitations for receiving compensation is 2 years. It begins running from the date that the dog bit occurred.
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Ohio Dog Bite Laws: Related Resources
- Ohio Civil Statute of Limitations Laws
- Ohio Negligence Laws
- Does the Type of Animal Affect a Bite Injury Case?
Questions about Ohio Dog Bite Laws? Get Answers from an Attorney
If you've been bitten by a dog, you may be able to recover damages for your injuries. Discover how Ohio's dog bite laws impact your situation by talking with an experienced Ohio personal injury attorney located near you.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.