Skip to main content
Find a Lawyer
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Oregon Prostitution and Solicitation Laws

Aside from prohibiting prostitution itself, Oregon also prohibits a number of prostitution related crimes such as solicitation (paying for sex), pimping (promoting prostitution), and compelling prostitution. This is a brief summary of Oregon's prostitution and solicitation laws, including an explanation of the different types of crimes and potential penalties for a violation. Read on to learn more about how the Beaver State treats prostitution-related crimes.

Oregon Prostitution and Solicitation Laws:

The following table outlines prostitution and solicitation laws in Oregon.

Code Sections OR. REV. STAT. §§ 167.007, 167.008, 167.012, and 167.017
What’s Prohibited?

Prostitution: engaging, offering, or agreeing to engage in sex for a fee

Solicitation (a.k.a. patronizing a prostitute): paying, offering, or agreeing to pay a fee for sex

Promoting prostitution: intentionally promoting prostitution and knowingly owning, controlling, managing, supervising, or otherwise maintaining a place of prostitution or prostitution enterprise, inducing or causing a person to engage in prostiution or remain in a place of prostitution, receiving or agreeing to receive money or property from a prostitution activity with knowledge that it was derived from such, or engaging in any conduct which institutes, aids, or facilitates a prostitution act or enterprise

Compelling prostitution: knowingly using force or intimidation to compel a person to engage in or attempt prostitution, inducing or causing a person under 18 years of age to engage in prostitution, aiding another person under 18 years of age to engage or attempt to engage in prostitiution, or inducing or causing one's spouse, child, or stepchild to engage in prostitution


Prostitution and solicitation are Class A misdemeanors punishable by up to one year in prison and up to $6,250 in fines.

Promoting prostitution is a Class C felony punishable by to 5 years in prison and up to $125,000 in fines.

Compelling prostitution is a Class B felony punishable by up to 10 years in prison and up to $250,00 in fines.

Oregon Prostitution and Solicitation Laws: Related Resources

If you’re charged with a prostitution or a prostitution-related crime, it's in your best interests to consult with an Oregon criminal defense attorney. You can also visit Findlaw's sections on Prostitution, Solicitation, and Pimping and Pandering Laws for more information on these topics.

Was this helpful?

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?

  • Complex cases usually require a lawyer
  • Experienced lawyers can seek to reduce or eliminate criminal penalties
  • Sexual assaults & sex crime convictions often have long sentences and lifelong consequences

Get tailored legal advice and ask a lawyer questions. Many attorneys offer free consultations.


 If you need an attorney, find one right now.

Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options