Tennessee Dog Bite Laws
Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors | Last reviewed June 10, 2019
If you were bitten by a dog while strolling down the public sidewalk in Tennessee, you may be able to file a strict liability claim against the owner. Dog bites can cause serious injuries, such as lacerations and infections, and intense pain (not to mention mental anguish). These injuries can lead to steep medical bills and lost wages, which is why you'd want to consider filing a claim against the dog's owner in such situations. The following sections summarize Tennessee's dog bite laws and how they establish liability.
Tennessee Dog Bite Laws: Liability and Negligence
Tennessee law is unique in that it provides for both strict liability and a "one-bite" rule for dog bite injuries, depending on the specifics of the incident. Generally, strict liability applies to situations where the plaintiff was injured by a dog in a public place or private place (assuming they have permission). The "one bite" rule applies in other private places where the dog's owner has permission to be. This can sometimes create confusion, which is why it's a good idea to consult with an attorney before filing a dog bite claim in the state.
Tennessee Dog Bite Laws at a Glance
The last thing you have the patience for when dealing with a dog bite injury is deciphering complex "legalese" into language that makes sense. So, we've done that for you with the following "plain English" summary of Virginia's dog bite laws.
Tennessee Code: Title 44, Section 8-413
|"One Bite" Rule for Dog Bites||
In order to file a claim for a dog bite or other dog-related injury, the plaintiff must prove that the owner knew (or reasonably should have known) that the dog would act aggressively. This is typically established after the "first bite" (i.e. the dog's owner is put "on notice" at that point).
Tennessee's "one bite" rule applies to people who are on a farm, private residence, or other non-commercial property that the dog's owner rents, leases, or occupies with permission.
|Strict Liability for Dog Bites||
Dog owners may be held strictly liable (i.e. no need to prove negligence or fault) if:
|Defenses to Dog Bite Claims||
The following types of defenses may be established in a dog bite case:
|Time Limit for Filing Claim||
Personal Injury Claims: 1 year
Property Damage Claims: 3 years
See the Tennessee Civil Statute of Limitations for more information about time limits for different types of claims.
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Tennessee Dog Bite Laws: Related Resources
- Animal Attack and Dog Bite Claim Resources
- Does the Type of Animal Affect a Bite Injury Case?
- Dog / Animal Bites: FAQ
Get Professional Help With Tennessee Dog Bite Laws Today
Time is of the essence when it comes to filing a claim for a personal injury, as there are time limits for filing and you also want to gather as much information as possible soon after the incident. If you've been bitten by a dog in Tennessee, you'll want to explore your legal options. Talk to a Tennessee personal injury attorney specializing in animal bites today and learn more.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.